Homemade Granola

My Boys LOVE this stuff and would eat it everyday, if I’d let them!!:) And I like knowing it’s pretty much healthy. I also like to add their Primadophilus to it, along with my homemade yogurt, making it even better. And sometimes we add crushed strawberries to it, making a Yogurt Parfait.

I’ll post the recipe and then share what I do different. It is originally from my Mom, I grew up with it.

Homemade Granola

4 C. quick rolled oats (I put 1 cup of this as reg. oatmeal. It makes it a bit more chewy.)

2/3 C. Wheat Germ

1/2 C. Brown Sugar (I’ve cut this back almost in half. And we love it way better. Maybe that’s because I’ve been cutting back on sugar in everything, so we are getting away from so much sweets.)

1/2 C. chopped nuts

1/2 C Honey

Extras you can add- 1/2 C coconut (I always add this)

Raisins, sunflower seeds, flax-seed… whatever you want.

Stir very well.

Bake at 250* for 30 min. stirring every 10 minutes. I just leave it in my stainless steel bowl.

I should mention too, that this is more of a chewy granola, not crunchy. Enjoy!!!!

(I should mention, this used to be a microwave version. But I have quit using the microwave. So do it in the oven. I think it turns out just like it did in the mic. And I love knowing all the good stuff in my food has not been ‘cooked’ out.

Linked with Tasty Tuesday, at Balancing Beauty and Bedlam. And Tempt My Tummy Tuesday, at BlessedwithGrace.

This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Homemade Granola

  1. Yummy! I have to try this!! THANKS!

  2. This sounds great. Thanks for linking your post to TMTT.

  3. Pingback: Some up-dates | Tenderherb's Blog

  4. Pingback: Granola -Almost Gluten-Free | Tenderherb's Blog

  5. Pingback: Cinnamon | Tenderherb's Blog

  6. Pingback: Cinnamon Toothpaste | Tenderherb's Blog

Leave a Reply

