Shea Butter Lotion

Here is the first lotion recipe I tried. And it is the one I plan to use from now on.

Shea Butter Lotion
Oil Phase
3 oz. Shea Butter or Cocoa Butter
2 oz. Jojoba Oil or other non-greasy oil
1 oz. Sweet Almond Oil
1.5 oz Emulsifying Wax NF

Water Phase
16 oz. Water-warm to your wrist
1 TBS. Glycerin
2 1/2 oz alcohol
Essential Oil – optional

Melt oil phase in double boiler over low heat until smooth. (I use the shea butter.)

Mix water phase in another bowl.

Then slowly pour your Oil Phase into your water phase, as you mix with a stick blender. (Yes, a stick blender is a MUST!! I tried it with just a hand mixer and it just does not do the job!! So I went a bought one just for my lotion making.)

Once all the oil phase is in the water phase, continue to mix for 2 more minutes. Then add essential oils of choice. The lotion will be white to off white in color and fairly thin. It will firm up as it cools.
Pour into containers and allow to cool. I like to use old lotion containers or containers with wide mouth openings, making it easy to reach in.

Extra notes:

To keep your lotion from spoiling –

-Use very clean containers. I like to dip & swish them good in a kettle of boiling water to kill any bacteria. It really helps!!!

-Use distilled water or boil your water before using.

-Use the alcohol. I hadn’t been adding it, but discovered my lotion started spoiling too quickly. So now I just add regular vodka, and it last much longer! The original recipe asks for perfumers alcohol, but that stuff is expensive.

-You can also store it in the fridge. I actually like to use smaller containers, and just have a small amount out at a time. Keeping it chilled works wonders as well. (Just remember to pull it out a few hours before you want to use it, especially if you plan to use it right after a shower.) 🙂

*You may also use other kinds of oils, the jojoba oil has really increased in price. (3-12-14) I have been using Kukui Nut and Sunflower Oil the last while. Research oils, there is a difference in how greasy or not so greasy they are.

I ran out of my supplies a few mths ago (8-’15), so bought Aveno Lotion to hold us over. Neither my hubby or I liked it!! Didn’t spread as nice, and we thought that it felt greasier. Not sure why, but it just didn’t seem to do the job as well.

Original Recipe

You may also find it interesting to read this. It is about lotion making, but also contains info on what the ingredients are, in the lotions you buy. If you feel like educating yourself, it’s a good place to start. I purchase most of the ingredients through Mountain Rose Herbs.

Printer Friendly Version

This entry was posted in Health, Natural Products, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Shea Butter Lotion

  1. Pingback: Fruit Fly Trap | Tenderherb's Blog

  2. Pingback: Homemade Fizzing Bath Bombs | Tenderherb's Blog

  3. Pingback: Bulk Herbs, Supplements & More | Tenderherb's Blog

Leave a Reply

