Homemade Chocolate Syrup

I have been making my own Chocolate Syrup for a while now. And so far we like it. When I was growing up, Chocolate Syrup was a treat. Chocolate Milk was only for special occasions. But, when I got married, I was soon to learn that ‘farmers drink chocolate milk everyday’!!! It always bugged me to buy so much syrup, but hey, you do what your Husband likes. And he is the one who makes the money we use to eat, so he gets to eat what he wants. Right? Right!
But as I have been studying into foods and the ingredients they contain, I soon found out that chocolate syrup contains stuff I’d rather not be eating. And dreaded telling my Husband that. I knew that if I cut it out, I’d need a back up plan. So my search began. And I actually found a couple recipes. Most recipes are very similar, but this is the one I choose to try. And she has some lovely pictures, as well as a lots of photos.
1/2 C. Cocoa Power
1 C. Water
2 C. Sugar
1/8 teas. Salt
1/4 teas. Vanilla
– Mix the cocoa and the water in a saucepan. Heat and stir to dissolve the cocoa.
– Add the sugar to the saucepan and stir to dissolve.
– Boil for 3 minutes over medium heat.
– Add the salt and the vanilla.
– Let cool, then pour into an air tight container and store in the refrigerator.
Makes 2 cups.
I told my Hubby what I wanted to do. And he knows I am on the path to better food for better health. So he willingly said I may try a batch.
And now, that is all I make. He did say it was a bit different. But have been finding out, that anything you make tastes different then store bought. Why wouldn’t it?? It has way fewer ingredients in it, and way less additives!!!
I love cooking like this!!! Simple, easy and fun!!
This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Homemade Chocolate Syrup

  1. Pingback: The First 2 Weeks | Tenderherb's Blog

Leave a Reply

