Choosing Faith…

…In Seasons of Change!!!

We all have seasons of change in our lives. Most of them are Welcomed, but many times they are not so wanted.

This is a review on the 6th Chapter of the book Voices of the True Woman Movement by Nancy Leigh DeMoss. This chapter is written by Karen Lorrits. If you are just joining me, I am doing a book review on this Voices of the True Woman Movement book. You can find a link to the other chapters here.

This is Karen’s testimony of an emotional breakdown, soon after her last child leaves for college leaving her with an empty nest.

When changes come our way, along with them come fears and worries. And fear never comes alone-Nope, he brings his ‘buddies’ along too.

-Fear distorts reality.
-Fear victimizes us.
-Fear adds stress.
-Fear creates doubt.
-Fear cripples us.
-Fear replaces faith.
-Fear disappoints us.
-Fear  makes us doubtful of  success.
-Fear fills our heart with despair.
-Fear steals and destroys.

If we live in fear, we will soon find ourselves in a bigger and deeper mess then we would ever think possible. And we need to counter the fears and his buddies with the Word of God.

  • The Lord is my light and my salvation; whom shall I fear? The Lord is the strength of my life; of whom shall I be afraid? Though an host should encamp against me, my heart shall not fear: though war should rise against me, in this will I be confident. Ps. 27:1&3
  • Be careful for nothing; but in every thing by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known unto God. Phil. 4:6 (Or make your fears known to God.)
  • Fear thou not; for I am with thee: be not dismayed; for I am thy God: I will strengthen thee; yea, I will help thee; yea, I will uphold thee with the right hand of my righteousness. Is 41:10
  • The Lord shall fight for you, and you only have to be silent. Ex. 14:14

When we come to times like these, we need to just stop awhile and listen to God!!

As Karen said in her situation, …’resolving to God that I would not embarrass Him, my husband, or myself, I put fear on notice that it would not make me its slave, forcing me to do whatever it demanded of me, trying to make me forget all that my Father had done for me in Christ Jesus.’

She would look at herself in the mirror and say to herself, ‘I know that God loves me. Yes, I’m afraid right now-afraid to move forward, afraid to be honest, afraid of what’s coming. I don’t know what’s going to happen. But I don’t know what’s going to happen. But I do know that if He can part the Red Sea and raise a dead Jesus, He can surely take hold of the problems I have-even this incredibly heavy sense of fear, emptiness and loneliness-and make me walk in such a way that I don’t embarrass or disgrace Him.’

Submit yourselves therefore to God. Resist the devil, and he will flee from you. Draw nigh to God, and he will draw nigh to you. Cleanse your hands, ye sinners; and purify your hearts, ye double minded. Be afflicted, and mourn, and weep: let your laughter be turned to mourning, and your joy to heaviness. Humble yourselves in the sight of the Lord, and he shall lift you up. James 4:7-10

If you look at each of the bold printed parts of the verse,  each is a step, and the last one is humbling yourself.

Of all the things we must resolve to do when life is at it’s hardest and our fears are at their worst, the first is to resolve to surrender. Stop listening to yourself, and start talking to yourself. Let God be God, and fear will eventually  bow down to its Conqueror.

This entry was posted in Faith, Inspiration, Womanhood. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

