Cleaning a Wash Machine

Last week I asked how to deep clean my wash machine. And I was so pleased with the single comment I received from Ashley!!

…my washer has a place in the center-agitator thing for dispensing fabric softener, and I discovered one time that it was FULL of a black sludgy buildup from when I used to use fabric softener. There was a way to detach this part of the agitator, so I took it off…

I had wondered about that spot before, and had tried to take it apart. But it didn’t seem to want to move, and I didn’t want to bust something. But after reading that, I knew my problem had to be in there-Somewhere!! So I figured out how to take it apart.

And this is what I found!! It was so gross, I didn’t even want to touch it. But I knew there wasn’t anyway I would be able to wash clothes in there without cleaning it. I had to wonder how my clothes were even getting clean in the first place!!

I didn’t use bleach as Ashley suggested, but scrubbed with a tooth-brush and elbow grease.

I think the years of using Fabric Softener built up in this thing. You are to put the liquid softener in the center cup and it runs over the side and down through this hole during the spin, before the rinse.

When I quit using the fabric softener and began using vinegar in my rinse cycle, I think it started ‘cleaning’ it out. Hence the black flakes of stuff on my clothing.

It seriously was slimy and goopy and oh, so gross. And to imagine, I have been ‘cleaning’ my clothes in there.

I felt so much better after I got it all cleaned up and put back together!! Now I know my clothing is getting clean, and my washer should stay much cleaner as well. Since I am not using fabric softener or store-bought detergent. I LOVE my homemade stuff!!

Proof that I cleaned them and that it was cleanable!!!

Now maybe someone can learn from my ‘mistakes’ as well. I never knew you could or should clean in that part of your washer. But I am sure glad I found out!!

This entry was posted in Cleaning, Home, Household Tips. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cleaning a Wash Machine

  1. Ashley says:

    I’m so glad it solved your problem! Disgusting isn’t it? I don’t think I could ever go back to commercial fabric softener after seeing that.

Leave a Reply

