Baked Oatmeal

My mom used to make Baked Oatmeal when I was growing up. And I never really cared for it. Although my brothers loved it. I think it was because she put chocolate chips in it for them. But she always made a pan for us girls that was just plain. I always thought it was kinda blah. Or sometimes it had raisins in it. But I didn’t care for it that way either.

After getting married, and having to make my own breakfasts for my own hubby, I discovered he grew up with Baked Oatmeal having apples in it. And I was like great, ‘More work for me to do’. Although that sounded much more appetizing!! So I would make it every once in a great while, as it wasn’t a big hit.

But now! Now I make it almost once a week. My boys love it!!! I don’t buy cold cereal anymore, and they don’t miss it. So I am trying new things with the Baked Oatmeal. Cutting up apples just takes a bit of extra time, so this morning I tried blueberries. Wow, was that a hit!! We only had a small helping of a 9×13 pan left.

My cousin puts mini M & M’s in her’s. I guess that would be kind of like the chocolate chips.

Baked Oatmeal

2 Eggs-beaten
1/2 C. Butter-softened or Oil (I use butter)
3 C. Oatmeal
1/2 C. Honey
2 tsp. Baking Powder
1 tsp. Salt
1 C. Milk
1/2 tsp. Vanilla or Maple Flavoring
Add what ever add-ins you want- I do 1 medium size apple, or 1 c. blueberries, I’ve never added the chocolate chips, so add whatever you think looks good. [smile]
Mix and bake in 9×13 pan. Bake at 350* for 30 minutes.

Baked Oatmeal with Apples.

This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Baked Oatmeal

  1. Pingback: My Grain-Free Menu Ideas | Tenderherb's Blog

Leave a Reply

