Homemade Bisquick Mix

In my quest for removing processed foods, I wanted to find a recipe for Bisquick, but most of them contain shortening. I finally found one with butter. I don’t use it much, just a few recipes, but I do want to try the drop biscuits sometime.

Homemade Bisquick Mix

  • 5 C. Flour -I used fresh ground whole wheat
  • 1/4 C. Baking Powder
  • 2 TBS. Sugar
  • 1 Tsp. Salt
  • 1 C. Butter

Mix together flour, baking powder, sugar and salt. Cut in butter until mixture is crumbly. (Using room temp. butter is easiest.) Use in recipes calling for Bisquick as usual.

Store in air tight container for up to 6 wks. or in the freezer for longer storage.

Makes approx. 6 C. mix.

To make biscuits-Mix together 1/3 C. milk for every 1 C. mix. Drop onto ungreased cookie sheets and bake at 450* for 10-12 min.

*Add any additional ingredients you wish such as cheese or herbs before adding milk.

*1 C. of mix yields about 6 biscuits.

I found this recipe at Kitchen Simplicity.

This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Homemade Bisquick Mix

  1. Lolalo says:

    I also like the idea of using butter instead of shortening. Lard would be good if you could find some unprocessed, but that isn’t available in any grocery store I can find.

Leave a Reply

