The First 2 Weeks

It’s hard to believe that 2 weeks have passed already since we made our diet change. There sure were days that it seemed to crawl by, and others that went fairly smoothly. For the most part, it was rough. And yet, I can tell we were carried on the wings of prayer. We serve an Awesome God!!! And I’m so thankful for the support of family and friends, the notes, cards and comments, it all has meant a lot to me.

For myself, it hasnt’ been too bad. I’ve had no major cravings from the withdrawal of sugar or wheat. Although, I sure had major hunger pangs!!! But that comes from not feeding those ‘Yeastie Beasties’. And that part is very annoying! But I know it’s for a good cause, so I’m fine with it. Another good thing, is the weight loss that comes with it. Yep, I’m almost back to my pre-wedding weight, which I haven’t seen in a long while. I also have found ‘Activated Charcoal’ to be a big help in ridding my body of toxins. 

It was a very rough week 1 for Rylen. He all but refused to eat for 3 days. (Partly due to teething too.) Then finally one evening he decided rice was good to eat, and he ate and ate and ate!!! He was finally happy for a few hours too.

I can not keep food around or make enough for meals!! My boys shovel everything in sight into their stomachs, only to be asking for more food in 1/2 an hour. It makes this Mother weary. But at least I know they are only eating good stuff. Although they’ve about had enough of carrots and celery. But they love red peppers!!!

And I need to tell you a story… One day I noticed Jevan with some strange markings around his mouth and had to wonder what it was. He had been in the fridge, but I didn’t have any concrete evidence, so didn’t do anything. A day later, I heard him rummaging in the fridge again. So this time I quietly went to see what he was doing.  And I caught him!!! He was drinking chocolate syrup straight out of the bottle!!! Later I told his Dad, and he said he had been noticing the syrup level had been dropping fast. ‘That’ kid will stop at nothing!!! And he must have had some serious cravings to drink it straight!

I literally felt like I had the rug pulled out from under me. For the last year I’ve been learning about making food healthier, using whole wheat flour and less sugar, etc. And now, I totally have to start over, all with foods I am not familiar with. Or I should say, preparing them in ways I am not used to. And using odd flours, that turn out dry foods if not prepared with lots of extra odd things added. (Believe me, I know!) But it sure is nice having hungry boys who eat everything in sight, whether it’s dry, odd tasting, partly burnt or just plain gross.

I’m also finding out it is quite spendy to buy all these gluten-free flours and grains, pasta’s, and stuff. But I know my family will send me out the door if I try to feed them beans and rice every night!! We have landed on a few recipes that we love. So now comes the challenge of being frugal in my meals and learning how to make things stretch.

Sunday I finally got some menu’s planned out. Although, it will probably get changed around. I ordered the book ‘Nourishing Traditions’, so I will have lots more meal ideas from there. Right now I’m using ‘Wow, it’s Allergy Free’, which is good, but still not a lot of variety.

 I more planned meal ideas,

Monday’s -Stirfry’s
Tuesday’s-Potato’s & Chicken
Wed. -Soup Night
Thurs.- Fish & ??
Friday’s-Rice and whatever
Saturday’s – Still kinda opened ended.

We had a tradition of  Pizza every Sat. night. And we are finding it hard to break that. Anyone have any idea’s?? And with taking tomatoes out too, it greatly hinders the sauce department!! (Although I do have a ‘Mock Tomato Sauce’ recipe to make, I just need to find the squashes that I need.)

But having a theme for each evening gives me guidelines in knowing what to look for in a recipe and I’m not bouncing all over trying to figure out what to make.

So over all, I feel we are making steps… little by little. Although, my boys had a very hard time at our Church Fellowship meal yesterday. I keep telling Collin that the stricter we are on ourselves now, the sooner we can at least eat our gluten again. (He doesn’t know that it is still months away.) But with God’s help we will keep on.

This entry was posted in Health. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The First 2 Weeks

  1. heidi says:

    Looks like I found your post way after it was written, but I noticed that you were asking for a gluten free pizza idea. Perhaps you have found it, but if not…you might like two tortilla shells with smashed beans and cheese in the middle (like a quesadilla) and flip it on the frying pan to soften the shells. After flipping, add tomato sauce, cheese, olives, beef, ect. It tastes a lot like pizza and my gluten free family of five loves it!!
    Blessings

Leave a Reply

