Granola – Almost Gluten-Free

To say my boys ‘Love Granola’, would be an understatement!! They eat and eat and eat it, when I serve them some. I quit buying commercial cereal a long time ago, and we only ate my Homemade Granola 3 mornings a week or so. (Give or take, it depended on the week.) My boys would eat it every morning if they could. So when we had our diet change, and took out gluten, sugar and milk, they were very disappointed to not get their ‘Granola’.

I was very pleased to find ‘Gluten-Free Oatmeal’ while shopping. But I was not pleased  with the price. So I made a compromise. I use half GF and half regular. Since oatmeal is really a GF grain, it just gets contaminated during the processing or something I guess. (I’m still learning.) And we only eat it on Sunday Mornings, since it is a nutritious and quick Sunday morning breakfast, with homemade yogurt and strawberries.

And those boys will pack a lot of food away… the first Sunday I made it there was less than a cup left!! Yesterday about 3, but we ate the cup left from last week, so really 2.

I modified the recipe, but love how it turns out. It is basically like my other granola recipe, just no sugar and less honey!!! And yes, we still think it’s sweet.

‘GF Granola’

4 C. Oatmeal-half GF and half Regular

1/2 C. Wheat Germ – Not GF!! So don’t add if you are closely watching gluten

1/2 C. Coconut

1/4 C. Oil – I use Olive

1/4 C. Honey

1/2 C. Chopped Nuts or slivered Almonds

1 tsp (or more) Cinnamon

May add 1/4 tsp Salt and 1/2 tsp Vanilla.

Mix all together really well. And bake at 250* for 30 min. Stirring every 10 minutes. I do it in a stainless steel mixing bowl.

The original recipe calls for Peanut Butter. But since I don’t like it I have never added it. Although I may this week, since there is enough of the other left for me to eat, and the ‘men’ around here love Peanut Butter. I’ll add 1/8 C. Peanut Butter and lessen the oil and honey to about an 1/8 C. each, and mix the honey, oil and P.B. over low heat to melt the P.B. to be able to mix in the oatmeal easier. *Edit to add – I made the granola with PB and the guys around here love it!!*

Eating it while still warm is the BEST!!!!

Enjoy!!

Linked to —

Balancing Beauty & Bedlem

Tempt my Tummy Tues.

This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Granola – Almost Gluten-Free

  1. Shy says:

    Hey, can you still eat wheat germ? I always thought, and from my research, it’s still in the gluten category. Just wondering? 🙂

  2. tenderherb says:

    I have no clue honestly… and was hoping some one would just answer that for me. I know it’s part of the grain, but wasn’t sure if it had the gluten part still in. I know I really should go study that… but so many other things are calling to be studied as well, and it’s hard to know which to study first.

  3. Shy says:

    I did a very fast look up on it. It was in a list of gluten ingredients to avoid if you are going gluten free. I did not do an in depth search however so who knows what you would find…!

  4. Marilyn says:

    My Mom used to always add sunflower seed to homemade granola! And we would add raisins when we ate it. I loved it that way! I need to make it again. Haven’t for a long time!

Leave a Reply

