Making Kefir

Kefir Grains

Photo credit

Our ‘New’ Favorite drink is Kefir. If you’ve never tried it… well, it takes a bit to get used to. And we are still getting used to it. So, no, we do not drink it plain or straight. (Yet.)

We love it in smoothies!! And smoothies are our favorite treats. And often our snack before going to bed. Since we can eat blueberries, raspberries and blackberries, that’s what they are made out of. We add lots of kefir, some almond milk, (for flavor), berries, bit of honey and maybe some ice cubes. The boys beg for them, so you know it’s gotta be good.

Since we can’t drink Orange Juice or milk, I keep looking for things to drink for breakfast. So this morning I made a kefir milk. I added just enough berries, almond milk and honey to take the tartness out & blended it up. It was so simple and very good. And I love knowing my boys are getting LOTS of probiotic into their bellies at the same time.

And I love it that I can make kefir from whole, farm, fresh milk. As fermenting the milk breaks down the lactose, making it possible for us to drink. So it is much, much cheaper then buying almond milk. And there is no heating or keeping it warm involved. Unless you want to ‘hurry it up’. I keep mine on the stove, for the heat that is there.

Kefir is a fermented milk drink. And if you really look at it, it looks kinda disgusting. But by blending it in the blender, it makes it all smooth and very drinkable. The longer you let it ferment, the more tart it becomes.

I need to get the ‘Grains’ yet, as I am just using the powder stuff right now. I had bought them first, so decided I need to use them up before getting the grains that will last forever.

Here are some really good picture posts on making kefir and how to do it.

This site also has many other ways to make fermented foods

Like kefir soda pop, Kombucha and of course Kefir.

And Tammy’s Recipes has a great Kefir how-to. She even has a kefir pancake recipe. I want to try a pancake recipe with kefir but I need one with different flour. And yes, I have one somewhere… I just need to find it again. I am only cooking with about 5-7 different cookbooks for ideas and how-to’s.

This entry was posted in Health, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Making Kefir

  1. Pingback: How to Make Homemade Yogurt | Tenderherb's Blog

  2. Pingback: I’ll Learn, I’ll Get It… I Will, I WILL | Tenderherb's Blog

  3. Pingback: Random Links I Found to be Interesting | Tenderherb's Blog

  4. Sunday laws says:

    Appreciating the dedication you put into your blog and
    in depth information you provide. It’s great to come across a
    blog every once in a while that isn’t the same outdated rehashed information. Excellent read!
    I’ve saved your site and I’m adding your RSS feeds to my Google account.

Leave a Reply

