Buckwheat Pancakes

I found a recipe we like… so much so, I had to make 2 batches of them this morning. The boys just kept eating and eating. The first batch they each got about 5, and me 4. (I do not make giant ones.) And they were begging for more. And their Dad hadn’t even come in the house to eat yet. (He is learning he has to grab his share of the food around here if he wants any.) So I promptly started the 2nd batch, of which Collin ate 3 more and Rylen 2 more. So Delvyn did get to clean the rest up and be full himself. The next time, I will make a double batch!! And hope it’s enough!!

Buckwheat Pancakes

Sugar free and Gluten Free

From the ‘Wow, It’s Allergy Free’ Cookbook

1 1/4 C.Apple juice or Water-I use water and only 1 c. We like thicker pancakes.
2-3 TBS Olive Oil

1 C Buckwheat flour
1 tsp Baking Powder
1/2 tsp salt-I never add
1/2 tsp Stevia

Mix just until blended with whisk. And pour onto hot griddle, flipping once. The underside will not look like a normal wheat flour pancake. But they sure are good!!! And yes, we ate them with our Blueberry Pancake Topping.

The reason I use water, is that apple juice still contains too much natural sugar for us right now. So maybe down the road I will be able to sweeten it up a bit more. But for now, it tastes plenty sweet to us. {smile} I have also added an egg. But use less liquid. Not sure which way I like it best.

For a quick breakfast, mix your liquid ingredients into blender. And your dry ingredients in covered container. In the morning pour the dry ingredients into blender and whiz just ’til blended. Pour onto hot griddle.

This entry was posted in Gluten Free/Sugar Free, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Buckwheat Pancakes

  1. Louise says:

    Lois, your boys crack me up with their appetites! Can you imagine feeding them when they are teenagers????? My boys are just about like yours too … eat anything in sight. My favorite snack ideas these days is dried fruit {cranberries, blueberries, papaya, etc.} , and nuts. They also all love raw veggies like carrot sticks, celery sticks, broccoli, cauliflower, etc. if I let them dip it all in either salad dressings or peanut butter. =)

    I think of you often in all your endeavers. Blessings to you!

    • tenderherb says:

      Yes, Louise, I do often think of them as teenagers… Not sure if I dread it or look forward to it. One good thing, there won’t be much food wasted in this house!!! If it is, it will be over a food fight or something. I wish I could feed them fruit. They love it… but they ate apples the other day and had a reaction. So I know it is something that NEEDS to be limited. And they love nuts too. The veggie sticks, I’m having to cut back, they were getting tired of them. The newest thing right now is, Beef Jerky!!! Made from burger… post on that coming. I made 2lbs yesterday and they are about gone!!

Leave a Reply

