Simple Granola Bars

I have been trying to find a good granola bar recipe, and I think I finally have. (You know it’s not really fun to find a recipe you really like. ‘Cause then the joy of making and revamping recipes, to ‘find the perfect one’ is gone!! But my boys are very happy I found this one. I can’t keep ’em out of the pan. Even Rylen tries getting into it, taking a stool to the stove, and just barely reaching it. They would have eaten it all day if I would have let them.

I had a couple of requests this recipe, so I’m gonna post it. Even though I only made it once. And it really bugs me, (you’d think I’d learn) but I can’t remember where I found the recipe. So if someone bumps into my post and recognizes it, let me know. I’ll gladly put the proper credits where they belong. I did do some changes from the original, so it’s not ‘by the recipe’. But then, do I ever totally follow a recipe?? (You don’t know me, if you said, ‘Yes’. smile)

Simple Granola Bars 

  • ½ C. Honey
  • ½ C. Peanut Butter (creamy or crunchy)
  • 1 Tsp. Vanilla
  • 2 C. Granola Base
  • 2 C. Nuts/Seeds
  • 1 C. Dried Fruit

Granola Base could be:

  • Gluten Free Oats (Maybe toasted)
  • Gluten Free Cereal –I used Puffed Millet and Puffed Rice.
  • 1 1/2 C. Gluten Free oats/cereal plus 1/2 C. shredded coconut

Nuts/Seed combinations could be any combination of the following:

  • Pepitas (green pumpkin seeds)
  • Almonds
  • Pine Nuts
  • Pecans
  • Walnuts
  • Sesame Seeds
  • Sunflower Seeds
  • Flax Seeds

Dried Fruit Any combination or single fruit:

  • Dried Cherries
  • Dried Blueberries
  • Dried Cranberries (like craisins)
  • Dried Apricots
  • Raisins
  • Dried Apricots (chopped)
  • Dried Dates (chopped)
  • Dried Figs (chopped)
  • Prunes (chopped)

Preheat oven to 350*. Butter 9×13 pan.

To make the ‘Granola Glue’, heat the honey to a simmer. And then simmer 1-2 minutes, until evenly foamy/bubbly on top. Remove from heat and add Vanilla. It will steam a bit. Then add Peanut Butter and stir until it’s all mixed in and a uniform consistency.

Mix your Granola Base with the nut/seeds. Pour the ‘Granola Glue’ over mixture and mix until evenly distributed. Then add the dried fruits and mix again.

Pour mixture into your pan and pat down. I used wax paper and really packed it hard, and evenly.

Bake for 20 min. And then allow to cool completely before cutting. They will firm up!

Cut into bars 1×4. Store in air tight container. You may rebag/wrap them individually if you want.

I used 1/2 GF Oatmeal and half puffed cereal. And it was very good. I’m sure other cereals could be used as well. The thing I love about this recipe is the variety it offers. You can toast the nuts before you mix it in too, if you want. And yes, that’s craisins in there!!

*Edit* May ’11-

I have found out using peanut butter and apricots really makes a granola bar stick together!! When I use raisins they still fall apart. I had whole apricots, so I used my magic bullet to grind them up, (a food processor would work too) and then added them to the bars and the bar held together really, really good. So now I am thinking maybe I should do the same with raisins. And since my boys aren’t big on raisins, maybe grinding them up will help and they will eat them.

I think it all sticks together better, because it makes the fruit stickier. It works for making your own larabars, why not for this??

This entry was posted in Gluten Free/Sugar Free, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Simple Granola Bars

  1. Nita says:

    Thanks for posting Lois!:)

  2. Nita says:

    The pics dont look the same as the stuff that you had Sat.

    • TenderHerb says:

      I know they aren’t!! The stuff I had on Sat. was the same recipe your Mom has, that I had given her. I decided to just do my own thing here. Sat.’s were just different in that I added puffed rice and millet for half the oatmeal.:) It is really cheap to get at Woodmans in the GF aisle. I would try somthing else to make that recipe more sticky, so the stuff stays together!! Maybe I’ll have to play with that recipe yet. It just has flour in it, so I thought I’d try to avoid it.:) Guess you can play with it, and tell me how they turn out. I still think cooking the ‘glue’, makes it hold together better.

  3. Pingback: Selling Cookies and Filling Fountains | Tenderherb's Blog

Leave a Reply

