Ahhh, A New Cookbook…

 

…My new ‘Love’. {smile}

Healthy Choices

No Sugar. No White Flour. No artificial anything.

‘The cookbook for people who want wholesome, nutritious food, from the kitchens of Keepers at Home readers’

And I gotta love the family that gave me the resource, as a gift certificate, to get this cookbook. Since we have changed so much of our eating habits with our diet change, I didn’t use my cookbooks. So many things were just not in line with the way I wanted to eat, and used so much processed/prepackaged foods. So I had been keeping my eyes open for a cookbook I could use.

I found this one at the local Bulk Food Store. And have been reading it ever since… hauling it with me to places I have to sit and wait or while riding in the van. (I love reading cookbooks.)

This week I have been only making our meals out of it. And it has been a smashing hit. All but for one meal, which I will modify. It was only because a certain someone, whose opinions carry a lot of weight around here, doesn’t like green beans.

I love how it’s desserts/cookies/pie sections are very small in comparison to the rest of the book. Out of 440 pages of recipes, only 75 pages are ‘baked sweets’. The past few years as I was beginning to look for healthier recipes, it was disappointing to find most of the cookbooks I owed had a much larger section of dessert type foods then any other. What does that say about our eating habits??

–The sections in this book are —

Beverages,

Breakfast -including casseroles, french toast, pancakes, baked oatmeal, granola cereals and the like.

Breads -including yeast, quick, muffins, biscuits, crackers, rolls, tortillas and bread sticks (even has spelt bread recipes.).

Sourdough,

Salads and Salad Dressings, -including Homemade Mayonnaise.

Cooking with Herbs,

Meats

Meat Substitutes

Casseroles

Side Dishes

Soups

Pizza & Sandwiches

 Dairy -including butter, yogurt, cheese -including cottage and cream cheeses and more

Lacto-fermented

Cakes

Cookies

Pies and Pie Crusts

Desserts

Dips, Spreads and Salsa

Snacks

Campfire Cooking

Canning

Dry Seasoning Mixes

Soaps and Cleaners

Home Remedies

Gardening Solutions

So it’s got a wide range of recipes and resources to use. Just my type!!

Keepers at Home is a quarterly magazine published for women ‘In the spirit of Titus Two’. My subscription ran out while they were asking for recipes for this cookbook and I kinda forgot about it. When I seen it, I was surprised at the size of it. And excited. I didn’t know back then, the journey God had ahead of me…

And yeah, I wanna renew my subscription… sometime!!

I did find one place online that sells it… at Rod and Staff. You can even view sample of the recipes.

This entry was posted in Health, Kitchen Tips, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Ahhh, A New Cookbook…

  1. Nita says:

    So glad that you found a cookbook that works for you! 🙂

  2. Nita says:

    And it looks very interesting:) …i mean that in a good way of course:)

  3. Pingback: Rhubarb Cream Pie | Tenderherb's Blog

  4. Pingback: Honey French Dressing Recipe | Tenderherb's Blog

  5. Pingback: Soft Grits Breakfast Casserole | Tenderherb's Blog

  6. Pingback: My Grain-Free Menu Ideas | Tenderherb's Blog

Leave a Reply

