Baking Soda and Vinegar can unclog a sink??

I found this handy little book at the library Baking Soda: Over 500 Fabulous, Fun, and Frugal Uses You’ve Probably Never Thought Of By Vicki Lansky. I liked it so well I ordered it off of PaperbackSwap (a great place to get free books!!). But now I can’t find it… it’s somewhere in my mess.

Anyway, there was this wonderful tip in there for unclogging sinks. I tried it and it WORKS!! (This is the 2nd time I’ve tried it.)

First you put 1/2 to 1 C of Baking Soda down the drain. I did closer to a cup, as it was my kitchen sink and it was slow!! I work it down with a wooden spoon handle, or, as I found out, an orange peeler thing (ya know those long skinny handle things) works really great to push it down. I also dribble in a bit of water just to get it down there better. And I did it to both sink drains.

While you are working on that have a cup of vinegar heating in a kettle. Bring to a boil, and then pour down the drain and watch the volcano. This is a great project to have kids do or help with.;)

I actually ended up doing closer to 4C. of vinegar this morning, as I felt like the drain wasn’t opening. And there was still plenty of  Baking Soda down there to fizzle it open.

And then I washed dishes, with a happy heart, knowing my water would go down in a timely manner when I was done!! It also works on bathroom drains with hair clogs. And you may need to repeat the steps a couple of times to get it all worked loose.

This entry was posted in Cleaning, Household Tips, Kitchen Tips. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

