Zucchini Oatmeal Cookies

3\4 c. honey
1 c. butter -scant when using honey
1 tsp. baking soda
1 tsp. cinnamon
1 tsp. salt
2 eggs
1 tsp. vanilla
3 c. flour -I had used Spelt Flour
1 c. raisins
2 c. grated unpeeled zucchini
1 c. nuts, optional
3 1/2 c. oatmeal

 

Cream together honey, butter, eggs, salt, and vanilla; mix together flour, baking soda, cinnamon, oatmeal. Add to creamed mixture and mix well. Add raisins and nuts. Drop by teaspoon on greased cookie sheet. Bake in 350 degree oven for 10-12 minutes. Makes about 70 cookies.

I took the sugar out, if you want to use that instead of the honey you may add 1 1/2 c. of it. (Sounds like ALOT to me!!) I lessened the amount of butter, as the honey is a liquid. And I also cheated and use mini semi-sweet chocolate chips, instead of the raisins. The boys love chocolate chips, but I only use them on rare occasions and for treats.

And sorry, no pictures. I didn’t think of it. You could very well see the green zucchini, but after one bite the boys didn’t care about the looks. They held together very well, very little crumbs and traveled nicely. I had made a double batch, which lasted the whole trip. Although they ran out on the’ last leg’ home. We shared them almost everywhere we went. And yes, everyone loved them!!! Not sure why, they are a very simple basic cookie, but very, very good!!

I got the recipe here on Cooks.com.

I also found this cool new site to save my recipes at. *Mental note to self- Save every recipe there!! Then when you want to post a recipe you like, you don’t have to spend 15 minutes digging online for it.* It’s called ‘Say Mmm’

It is more of a menu planning site, but I like it for saving my recipes that I find and use online. I can just copy the link of the place I found it, and save it under the catergories I want. I also love that I can add my own notes to each recipe. Since I change most recipes I make to meet our needs I really like that feature!! And it saves printing out recipes… I just use my laptop in my kitchen as I would a cookbook. Spoiled, I know… Until I dump something on it.

You can also make out a grocery list, print it out or view from your phone. (So if you forgot your list you can find it there.) I, for one, don’t have mobile web access, so I don’t use that feature.

Anyway, that’s just my little ‘free’ tip for the day.:) Oh, and I can’t forget to mention that it is a FREE site!!! I have seen other similar sites but didn’t want to spend the $$ on them for fear I wouldn’t like them or would not end up using it much.

This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

