Birthday Cake and a 5 yr Old

Don’t even notice that can of pepsi there… I never noticed ’til now. We sure were not drinking any that evening!!

But the cake wasn’t for the 5-year-old!! He made it for his Mom!!! And he did a wonderful job!! I was so proud of him…

It all started on Sat. ‘Mom, who are you going to eat your birthday with??’ ‘Eat my birthday with? Huh?? What do you mean??’ ‘Your cake!!’ Oh, then the light dawned… in a kids mind you have to have a cake to have a birthday!! ‘So are you going to make me a cake??’ ‘Mom, I can’t make you a cake!!’ ‘How about if I help you?? And you can make a cake just for MOM!!’ ‘Yeah, that sounds fun!’ ‘Ok, on Monday Morning we will make a cake.’ ‘Ok, after I do my work, soooo, maybe like 10:00?!?!?!’ ‘Ok, it’s a deal!’

So, Monday morning found me prepping to help a little boy make his Mom a birthday cake.

And at precisely 10:00, we began!! (Not like he knows his time that good, but he does have general ideas of times!! But he was done with his barn chores and had time to make this cake!!)

He poured the spelt berries into the grain mill and turned it on. While waiting for the flour to be ready he helped prepare the rest of the things… He did a really good job, sticking with it and doing all he could!! All the way to putting it in the oven all by ‘his-self’!!

Here is the recipe we used… from New life on a Homestead

Delicious Whole Wheat Chocolate Cake

  • 1 1/4 cups finely ground soft white wheat (pastry wheat); sifted (I used fresh ground spelt flour/and a bit of whole wheat)
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt (I used Real Sea Salt)
  • 1 Tbsp Lard
  • 8 Tbsp cocoa powder
  • 1/4 cup butter, softened at room temp I used less because I used honey
  • 2/3 C. Honey -More if you want a sweeter cake. We are so used to things not so sweet, we don’t think of it. 
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 c. sour cream or Mayo
  • 1/2 cup boiling water

1. Sift the flour, baking soda, and salt together in a bowl.

2. Melt the lard in a small saucepan over low heat, stir in the cocoa powder and mix well. Allow to cool slightly.

3. In another bowl, beat the butter and honey for a 1 minute or so. Add the eggs and beat until smooth. Beat in the vanilla and cooled cocoa.

4. Add about a third of the flour mixture to the bowl, along with 1/4 c. sour cream, and stir. Add another third of the flour mixture along with the remaining 1/4 c. sour cream, and stir again. Finish up by adding the rest of the flour mixture, and stirring until well combined.

5. Stir in the boiling water. Pour the batter into a greased and floured 9×13 pan.

6. Bake at 375* for approx. 35 min., or until a toothpick comes out clean from the center.

As I was posting this I realized I forgot that 1/2 C. boiling water. It was a bit dry, so that sure would have helped!!! I changed some things from the original posted recipe. And it passed the ‘Kid Test’.

We had a lot of fun… helping each other and {taking pictures} to which he hated!!! But I wanted to remember this birthday of mine. Not only because it is my last one in my 20’s, but also because my first-born is growing up. He will be 6 next week!! Where oh, where is time going??

Oh, I should mention the frosting is just a Cream Cheese Frosting and so very good!!!

12 oz Cream Cheese

1/3C. Honey

1/4C Softened Butter

Whip together and spread on a cooled cake. May sprinkle chopped nuts on top.

Our plans got changed a bit… we did end up sharing the evening with my best friend’s family. It was rather an unplanned thing, the guys decided to help each other and wanted a rib supper. So I casually mentioned I’d bring the cake.:) Collin forgot to take candles for the cake so Bev provided them, but she only had 24 or so. He was busy jabbing the candles into the cake and got tired of it so decided to stop. We counted and there were ’16’, I thought that seemed like a pretty good age to go back to. He ended up ‘helping’ me blow out the candles. I had them basically out ’til his puff came. He had told me earlier ‘I am going to help you blow out all those candles’. I had told him it was MY cake I get to, his turn is coming… but guess it didn’t sink in.

A very unflattering picture of ‘your truly’, but I didn’t take it!! Though I did get all the candles out.

So we had a great evening. Even though I wasn’t feeling so great. I have been taking ImLife pretty hard again, so am lacking energy and just feel wiped out all the time. (And now I didn’t get this posted as soon as I wanted… I forgot my camera at Marv’s so no pics to add. And then my week has been the way it has been!! My birthday was on Monday the 25th.) I was a bit sad that I canceled my FB account a week before… so I didn’t get all the birthday wishes that normally come that day!!:) But I still had an awesome birthday!!

This entry was posted in Boys, Family Life, Motherhood, Randomness, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Birthday Cake and a 5 yr Old

  1. Nita says:

    Happy Birthday,Lois! 🙂 Glad You Could Come Over:)

  2. Kendra P says:

    I’m so glad you tried the recipe! And I’m glad to hear it got your kids’ approval too 🙂 I’ll have to try it with honey instead of brown sugar next time… I’m sure it’s a whole lot healthier! Happy Birthday to ya 🙂

  3. Brenda says:

    Happy belated birthday!! 🙂 Looks like ya’ll had fun in the kitchen:)

  4. Pingback: My Baby Turns 2!! | Tenderherb's Blog

  5. Pingback: A Great Pumpkin Cake | Tenderherb's Blog

  6. Heidi R says:

    I’ve never tried a whole wheat cake yet, so I confess I’m a little nervous, but I plan to try it for cupcakes for my son’s fourth birthday party. : ) If your family thinks it’s yummy, I’m sure it’ll pass the test. : )

    • TenderHerb says:

      I hope it does for you!! Some whole wheat ones just don’t for us. It takes some practice, and adjustments, as the texture is different!! But when we did such a big diet change, this was a treat no matter what, as we almost never had gluten!!:)

Leave a Reply

