Choosing {JOY}

‘Joy’

It was a word I knew, but wasn’t really applying it to my ‘here and now’. Or thinking that it was something that I needed to be thinking about in my present circumstances.

Until Wednesday evening… well, make that Monday when I started reading the chapter in our lady’s study book. And I knew I was going to have more to learn…

Joy is different than happiness. Happiness is a state of good fortune and prosperity related to and dependant on circumstances for the happy feeling within.

Joy is a choice!! God’s joy is a gift of grace to us as we encounter the hardship and tribulation and persecution of life in this world, and is given through God’s spirit.

We choose to be happy JOYFUL!!! When the rough spots in life hit us, we choose to be joyful, to be have a merry heart and look for the blessings that seem to be hidden. As a brook running over rocks, they seem to be blocking its path, but in reality it is making the water make a merry, joyful sound. Can I make a joyful sound when going over the ‘rocks’ in life??

-Joy-

…Is not dependant on circumstances, but on the spiritual realities of God’s goodness, His unconditional love for us, and His ultimate victory over sin and darkness.

…Is not based on our efforts, accomplishments, or willpower, but rather on the truth about our relationship with the Father through the son.

…Is not merely an emotion, but the result of choosing to look beyond what appears to be true in our life to what is true about our life in Christ.

My source of JOY can come from God Himself, His Salvation, God’s Promises and His Kingdom!! Little by little I’m learning… Learning to rest, trust, and be joyful in this season of my life.

And honestly my week was very rough… (I was taking my Lyme Killer’s hard again.) A real test of me being joyful, of choosing to look for the little blessings in my life. It’s not easy, but with God’s help I will learn to hold on to those promises in His word.

Linked to

This entry was posted in Randomness. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Choosing {JOY}

  1. I choose JOY!!!!

    Thank you for sharing, sweet friend. {{{hugs to you}}}

Leave a Reply

