Sloppy Cornbread Muffins

I found the idea on Heavenly Homemakers

I had a dish of sloppy joe in my freezer… for months!! Shhhh!! It was given to us, right before I went to FL for 3 wks. And my hubby never used it… And since we don’t eat much bread or even hardly have it in the house, it just doesn’t get used. Now it will!!

I tried a new Corn Bread Recipe a week ago and everyone LOVED it. So I used it again to make these. Since we live on a farm and have days of field work, I am trying to find recipes and things to make to send out on the tractor that are easy to eat and yet filling. Without having to make sandwiches. I think these will work!!

Corn Bread Recipe

1 1/2 C. Freshly ground Cornmeal

1/2C. Whole Wheat Flour or Spelt (I use combination)

3 Eggs

1/3 C. Honey

1 TBSP Baking Powder

1/4 Tsp Salt

1C Yogurt or Milk/Buttermilk –Yogurt makes a much softer and more moist cornbread!!

1/2 C. Soft Butter or Lard

Mix all ingredients together. Pour into a greased 9×13 pan. And bake for 20 min. at 350*. Or until done. Sooooo  so GOOD!!!!

I started doing an overnight soak to help break down the nutrients. I just soak the flour and cornmeal in the yogurt for 12-24 hrs.

3 Batches

Then when I made the Sloppy Corn Bread Muffins, I just put 1-2TBS of batter in a well greased muffin cup, and put 1 TBS, or so, of sloppy joe on top of the Cornbread batter.

And then baked for 15-20 minutes at 350*. Believe me, they are soooo good!! I was looking for something I can send with my hubby and boys when they are on the tractor. Something I can heat up and will be easy for them to eat!! Best of all, very little gluten!!

And if I wouldn’t have stuck them in the freezer promptly, that Man in my life would have wolfed down a lot more then the one I let him test.

Enjoy!!!

This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sloppy Cornbread Muffins

  1. Pingback: Freezer Cooking Day #1 | Tenderherb's Blog

  2. Esther says:

    Wow, looks good! My Hubby loves cornbread! Wonder how he would like these? I think I might try them! 🙂

  3. Marilyn says:

    I’ll have to try these cornbread muffins, they look good, the kids like cornbread and this would be an easy lunch or snack for them!

  4. Pingback: Flu & Cold Helps | Tenderherb's Blog

Leave a Reply

