Homemade Fizzing Bath Bombs

 

These things are fun to make and very, very simple. And makes a great gift. I like to give a Bath Basket of my Shea Butter Lotion, Lip Balm (recipe coming), Bath Salts and whatever else I feel like adding. Things like a candle, bath towel, notepad w/ pens, tea bags or whatever you think of to add.

You just need 3-5 ingredients –

Citric Acid – You can get at a Bulk Store, order online or get from a Health Food Store (I think)

Baking Soda

Witch Hazel – You can get at Wal-Mart or other drugstore

Fragrance Oil – highly recommended

Coloring – optional

Mix 1 part citric acid to 2 parts baking soda. The key here is blending these 2 ingredients very, very, very well!!!! If you don’t blend well you will end up with a grainy bomb.

Once you have blended really well, add your colorant. Dry pigments work best, but so far I have just not put any in. White ones are pretty too.

Add fragrance-I just use essential oils, such as lavender or other flower fragrance scent. Really the sky is the limit… if you like the smell and it makes you think relaxing thoughts, use it!!:) Just add a few drops at a time, it doesn’t take much at all, until your nose likes the smell.

Now comes the fun and hard part! I have found it is best to work with someone, it goes works better than doing it by yourself… But I have done it alone, so it is possible.

Put the witch hazel in a spray bottle, and then spritz the citric acid/baking soda mixture with one hand while stirring with the other. As soon as the mix begins to stick together when you squish it, you need to begin putting it in molds. (It does not take much at all.) If you add too much, it will get too wet and begin to ‘grow’, starting the fizzing action on you. (Yep, It has happened to me. I just keep mashing it down… and make the best of it.)

This would be ‘bombs’ doing some fizzing.

Then you need to be FAST!! Fast, as in putting it into molds as fast as you can. (This is where a 2nd person is really nice.) If you go too slowly, the mixture will harden. The harder you mash them into molds, the more durable, dense and heavy a bomb you will get. Take them out of the molds after a few minutes. Sometimes I found I need to let them set for an hr or so. I wonder if it has to do with how much I have mashed and packed into the mold. And if they do begin to fizz a bit, I just keep pushing it back down into the mold.

Bath bombs are generally a sphere, but using ice-cube molds are a great way to get other shapes. (I have never made balls, just hearts.) And do not use metal, the ingredients will have a reaction. Those rubber ice cube molds work great!

Let them air dry overnight and you should have some really good bombs. I like to gift them in a small gift type box, a bag just doesn’t seem to work for me. And they should last for more than one bath, but it depends on how well the bomb was made and how long you soak.:)

Have fun and enjoy!!!

This entry was posted in Fun Ideas, Natural Products, Randomness. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Homemade Fizzing Bath Bombs

  1. Nita says:

    Looks like fun! I might try it sometime!! 🙂

  2. Brenda says:

    Thanks,Lois! This was the one I couldn’t find and the one I wanted the most 🙂

    • TenderHerb says:

      I decided after you asked to go look and see what I had posted… I had planned to post this one, emmm, long ago… but well, guess I forgot.:) So thanks for the nudge. Have fun with them!!!

      • Brenda says:

        I’m sure I will! I love sticking these things in the tub and watching them fiz..yes, I get joy out of the simple things of life! 🙂 lol

Leave a Reply

