Awesome Sourdough Roll Recipe

Whole Wheat Sourdough Rolls

2 Cups freshly fed starter – I feed it the night before.

1 1/2 C. Whole Wheat Flour

2 TBS Melted Butter

1/4 C. Warm Milk

1 Egg, room temp. slightly beaten

1 tsp Sea Salt

2 TBS Honey

2 C. Whole Wheat Flour

(Since this makes a small batch I used my kitchen aid mixer)

In bowl, combine starter, and the 1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour. (Obviously, you may use regular white flour as well, or a combination.) Mix on low-speed for a few minutes, until well blended, about 3 min.

Then cover lightly with Saran wrap and let sit for 2 hrs.

After 2 hrs, add milk, butter, egg, salt and honey. Mix for a bit.

Then add the last 2 c. of flour. Let your mixer knead the dough, and keep adding flour as it needs it. I did at least another 2 c., until the dough no longer sticks to the sides of the bowl. Be careful not to add too much. You want it to be a tad on the sticky side.

Then shape dough into flat rolls a little bigger than your burger patties. You can make them as flat or fat as you want your rolls. I did flat ones, as I try to limit the amount of breads we eat. Place on cookie sheets.

Optional-butter tops while letting them rise. I didn’t do this, but think I will try it next time as I wonder if it will help keep moisture in while raising for 2 hrs.

Cover with a cloth and let them raise for 1 1/2-2 1/2 hrs. They will rise a bit more when baking them.

Bake at 350* for 15-18 minutes.

Enjoy!!!

I made these on my first freezer baking day… and we fell in love with them!! Even my hubby, who has not been enjoying the breads, pizza crusts, etc, very well lately. But they LOVE these!! Yay, score for me!!

This entry was posted in Recipes, Sourdough. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Awesome Sourdough Roll Recipe

Leave a Reply

