Soaked Granola Recipe

I have discovered that I can handle grains, to an extent I still greatly limit them, if they are soaked or sourdough. In other words, if it’s had the phytates broken down, making it easier for the body to digest. It’s already started to be digested before it ever gets to your stomach. So I have branched out in some other recipes to find soaked versions, for granola bars and granola mainly. But I’ve done crackers and tortillas too. Baked stuff is pretty easy to just soak before hand. It is a bit different to bake this way, as you have to be thinking ahead. It’s been working for me to soak a bunch of different things the night before. Then the next day just finish everything up, only running my oven for a few hours while I bake everything. It works great, as long as the boys are happy, things go smoothly. (Ok, that’s in my perfect world!!)

Anyway… here is a new Granola Recipe I found, and my family loves. It’s great when you try a new recipe/style of food for the first time and it’s a winner!! I wish more things worked that way.

This is the easiest way to soak oatmeal that I have found. (I’m experimenting with it with Granola Bars too.)

6 Cups Oatmeal

2 Cups Flour – I use a combination of Spelt and Whole Wheat freshly ground

1 Cup Yogurt – Homemade

Mix together really, really well. I use my hands to makes sure everything gets coated. Let sit on your counter for at least 8 hours. I often do this step in the morning and finish it the next morning, making it more like 24 hrs. But whatever works for you.

Then add in:

1 Cup Coconut

1 Cup Seeds – Sunflower, Pumpkin, Sesame, Ground Flax

1 Cup Nuts – Pecan, Cashews, Almonds, etc

Optional – 1 or 2 tps Cinnamon – I add, we love the flavor and it is good for you.

Mix thoroughly.

Heat:

1 Cup Butter or Oil of choice

1 Cup Honey

2 Tsp Vanilla

Mix into the oatmeal mixture, stirring well. Pour onto cookie sheet. And bake in 250* oven for an hour, stirring every 10-15 minutes, until mostly dried. We like ours chewy, not crunchy and this is perfect. So if you want it drier, bake it longer.

-Ready to bake- 

Store in air tight container.

It does tend to be a bit more lumpy/clumpier, but it isn’t too hard to break it up. And the boys love to munch on it, so clumps make it easier to grab a handful.

This is from the post I found the recipe at, I have not personally tried these options, as I have a new granola bar recipe we like and are playing with. Also we are about out of applesauce.

  • If you want to reduce the oil, you can use 1/2 cup oil and 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce. This makes a “cakier” granola.
  • If you want to make granola bars, add two beaten eggs with the liquids and bake in a 9×13 pan at 350 degrees for 30-40 minutes. Slice the bars while still warm.
This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Soaked Granola Recipe

  1. Esther says:

    Just recently I was wondering if its possible to make granola with soaked grains but I hadn’t taken the time yet to do the research! Thanks so much for this and hopefully I can try making soaked granola! God bless you!

    • TenderHerb says:

      It sounds like a long process, but it is really very, very easy!!! The extra soaking step is very simple and not much extra. Hope ya all like it. You will have to let me know if you do!!

      • Esther says:

        I just tried this recipe and we love it! It was so easy and fun to do and so good! Thanks for sharing! Blessing to your day!

  2. Nita says:

    if you would add chocolate chips it would be much better!!!! 🙂 lol

  3. Marika says:

    Hi, I just came across your blog. I have to say I really enjoy it!! I really love your recipes and your spots of family humor!! I was laughing so hard when I read your post about “If I knew before I had kids” (Sorry I forgot the official headline..) I have 3 littlies under 4 and everything you wrote is so true!!

  4. Marilyn says:

    Cool, will have try this recipe. Several weeks ago I decided to soak the oats before making granola, but the kids didn’t like the texture at all, but will have to try it again and add the flour too, maybe that will help the texture and make it taste better 🙂

  5. Esther Kingfisher says:

    I haven’t had granola for so long! I’m soaking it right now. 🙂

  6. Pingback: Be Sure Your Sins Will Find You Out | Tenderherb's Blog

  7. Pingback: When Its Hot… | Tenderherb's Blog

Leave a Reply

