Rhubarb Cream Pie

It’s this time of year I use up last years rhubarb that’s still in my freezer, as I get ready to add a fresh supply from this years garden. (And, nope, I didn’t use it much all winter.) I don’t make a lot of rhubarb stuff. Mostly because my hubby doesn’t care for rhubarb, so I don’t make it much.

I almost didn’t have any rhubarb this year, as one day I came home to find my then 5 yr old and 3 yr old busy digging up my little rhubarb plants. ‘What are you doing??’ ‘Digging up weeds. Those are junk plants.’ ‘Umm, these happen to be rhubarb plants. And if you dig them up, we won’t have any.’ (Of, course I wasn’t all that nice!! I did rather chew him out. Of all places to be digging up plants, why pick them?? I mean I have 10?? flowerbeds, millions of weeds, and they have a huge sandbox and plenty of other places to find dirt to dig up. WHY pick my rhubarb plants??!!??!!) 

So now I need to find the energy and motivation to go out and pick what’s there to freeze for next spring. *giggle* It’s the way I bounce… Why is that?? Maybe I will make another pie with fresh rhubarb since I found out we like it.

Yep, you read that right… a recipe we like!! Or rather, one my hubby finally likes. And it’s good for you, well, mostly. It made for a great treat!!! Lasting all of 24 hrs!! But I shouldn’t be surprised anymore, with my boys ‘inhaling’ everything almost faster then I can make it.

Rhubarb Cream Pie

From my Healthy Choices Cookbook – I love this cookbook.

2 TBS Butter

2 C. Diced Rhubarb

1/2 C. Honey

2 Egg Yolks

1/4 C. Honey

1/4 C. Milk

2 rounded TBSP Flour

Pinch of Salt

Cook butter, rhubarb, and 1/2 C Honey in sauce pan until rhubarb is tender, then mix together rest of ingredients. Add to cooked rhubarb, and boil 3 minutes, stirring constantly. Cool and pour into a baked pie shell. Top with  meringue made from:

2 Egg Whites – Whip then add:

2 TBSP Fructose – I think I just used a TBSP of sucanant I had on hand.

1/4 tsp. Cream of Tartar

1/2 Tsp Vanilla

Brown in preheated 425* oven. Serve warm or cool, either way, it delicious!!!

I think next time I will only use 1/4 C. Honey instead of the first 1/2 C. It was plenty sweet for us. But if you are not used to cutting out sugar yet, then I would not recommend cutting it down.

(Next time I make it, I will try to remember to get a picture.)

This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Rhubarb Cream Pie

  1. That sounds wonderful. The recipe, that is, not the kids digging up the crops part.:)

  2. Bev says:

    I think I’ll try this with what’s left of my rhubarb patch for this year. 🙂 Maybe for Sunday lunch..

Leave a Reply

