Savory Rice Pilaf Recipe

I found this recipe a while ago and have made it many times since!! We all just love it!!! I have made it a few times for others and they have all loved it. So I’m sure you will probably love it too. It is also a super simple, easy recipe to make. Something I am always on the look-out for.

Savory Rice Pilaf

1/2 Large Onion, finely chopped

1 Large Carrot, grated
2 TBS Butter
1 C. Long Grain Rice – I use Brown Basmati
2 C. Chicken Stock/Broth
1/2 tsp Salt
1/4 tsp Pepper 1/2 TBS Parsley

In sauce pot, saute onion and carrot in butter, until onion is translusent. Add rice and coat with butter, season with salt and pepper and fry for 2 mins, until slightly golden. Add the chicken stock and bring to a boil. Cover, reduce to a simmer and cook ’til rice is done. Be sure to check and not let your stock absorb too quickly. Once rice is cooked, add parsley and test seasonings for your taste. I like adding a minced garlic and other herbs as well. Just cause I’m ‘herby’ that way.

Serve and enjoy!!

Thanks hunwhatsfordinner.

This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Savory Rice Pilaf Recipe

  1. Nita says:

    Looks Yummy!!!! 🙂

  2. Bev says:

    Cool… I was just looking at some other rice pilaf recipes the other day and thought I better not try anything but Lois’ recipe! 🙂 Then kinda for got bout it… But it is now in my saymmmm file! 🙂 By the way, I LOVE that little site… I have so much fun copy and pasting. Just ask Nita! lol

  3. Em says:

    we had that with fahetas just the other nite and it was YUMMY!!!!

  4. Anna says:

    Hey. I needed a quick easy dish for a potluck tonight. I thought of your rice 🙂 I haven’t ever made this recipe but it looks simple and I know it’s yummy! Just way I needed. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

