A Great Pumpkin Cake

We scored another great recipe!! It was so good that within 30 mins it was GONE!!!! A whole 9×13 pan!! But wait, before you think it was just us, as in my 3 boys and handsome man. It also included my siblings and Dad and Mom!!

My brother came through the area with his semi, so he stopped at Dad & Mom’s for supper. I made dessert, a quick cake which included pumpkin and cream cheese icing. I was a bit nervous about it, as I kinda have some pick eating family members. (said kindly!!) They don’t mind natural stuff, but it has got to taste good.:)

This one obviously passed the test!! I laughed at Milton, as he came to the table after most everyone had eaten, he cut this tiny piece for a sample. Then dived in, cutting a much larger piece!!

And a few minutes later it was GONE!! Much to my guys displeasure, they would have no leftovers to eat the next day.

Sorry, there isn’t any pictures either… It was gone before I thought of it… so next time.

It is a super simple recipe, and very moist. But then, I think all pumpkin recipes are moist.

Hummmm, I just found another recipe, very close to the same, just slightly different amounts. I’m thinking I’ll try that one next time, er, probably a variation of combining both!! So now which do I post?? I’ll post what I’d do, but put the real recipes amount beside, then you can decide. The other recipe has more pumpkin, as in a whole cup more. (Anything with more pumpkin has got to be good!! Can you tell I LOVE pumpkin??) I had already added a 1/2 c. more of pumpkin to the original.

2 C. Whole Wheat, fresh ground flour (1 1/2 C)

2 Tsp. Baking Powder

1 1/2 Tsp Cinnamon

1 Tsp Baking Soda

1/2 Tsp Salt

1/2 Tsp Nutmeg

3/4 C. Honey

3 Eggs (original 2 Eggs other had 4)

1/2 C. Milk (2/3 C.)

1/2 C. Oil or Butter

2 C. Pumpkin (1 C. but I added 1 1/2 C.)

Mmmmm, I see where my problem comes in… the other recipe has more pumpkin, but no milk. And the next time I was going to soak my flour in the milk kefir or yogurt. Now I’ll be sure to scare everyone off of trying this recipe, before I even try the revamped version!! One recipe had 2 eggs the other 4, so I went in between to lessen liquid for the milk. Am I off track here??

So if you are going to soak, be sure to let the flour and yogurt/kefir sit for 12-24 hrs. before continuing.

Mix the honey, oil, eggs, and pumpkin. Mix spices and then dump honey mixture, flour mixture and spices and mix all at once. Mix thoroughly.

Pour into greased 9×13 pan. Bake @ 350* for 20-30 minutes and center of cake springs back.

It is great served with cold peaches or cream cheese icing (Recipe here scroll down). (I had done both!!)

If anyone tries this please let me know!!!! And if it’s a complete flop, share with everyone for sure.:) But I really don’t see a reason why it would flop. I kept the liquids/dry ingredients to pretty close the same ratios. My guys wouldn’t care if I would make it again… but my kitchen is seriously lacking in supplies right now. (Shopping is planned in the next day or two!!)

I know, you don’t need to tell me, I’m nuts for posting this. But I have some people who want the recipe, so take it as it is.:) And enjoy!!

This entry was posted in Randomness. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

