Do I Enjoy Motherhood?? Part 1

There are those days. You know the ones where you just feel like you are going through the motions of being a Mom.

The feelings of not enjoying your little ones or enjoying the blessings of Motherhood. And feelings of ‘Motherhood is a job’.

I am sorta in that rut right now. Almost viewing my current place in life as a drudgery, a task that needs to be done each day. I look at all the work I need to do, all the things that need to be done every day!! And things that I repeatedly do each day, that sometimes, ok, many times, have to be repeatedly done in a matter of hours. There doesn’t seem to be anything to look at and see, in a tangible way, that I HAVE done something today!!

I just fulfill the responsibilities of Motherhood and am not enjoying all the pleasures that come along. I am not even looking for those pleasures. While, yes, I do need to fulfill that task, Titus 2 asks for more – I am to love and delight in my children!!

And when I do get weary, I need to realize my only source of refreshment comes from God. He alone can refresh me, when I pause and spend time praying and in His word. I need to be diligent, in finding extra time, so I can be a better, more loving Mom.

I want a fresh vision of my boys being ‘arrows’. Behold, children are a heritage from the LORD, The fruit of the womb is a reward. Like arrows in the hand of a warrior, So are the children of one’s youth. Happy is the man who has his quiver full of them. Ps 127:3-5

My responsibility is to be a delight, not a burden!! Do I think words like work, responsibility, sacrifice, burden and more work?? Or do I see heritage, fruit, reward, arrows?? My speech and actions will be shaped by my thoughts. Thinking of them as a heritage, a reward, fruit, and a blessing will alter my attitude and provide the fertile soil for my tender love to grow.

‘May this extraordinary call to commend the gospel infuse my heart with a fresh vision and enthusiasm as I seek to love my children.

Though the task ahead is great we have this promise!!-

My grace is sufficient for thee, my power is made perfect in weakness. 2 Cor. 12:9

Quotes taken from ‘Feminine Appeal’ by Carolyn Mahaney A really, really good book!!!

Part 2 here.

Linked to

This entry was posted in Faith, Motherhood, Randomness. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Do I Enjoy Motherhood?? Part 1

  1. Mara says:

    This week I had the same problem and I came to the same conclusion, look to the word. Its one thing to know what the word says, but its another to stop and read it. Week is getting better thank the Lord. Poor hubby 😦

  2. Pingback: Enjoying Motherhood Part 2 | Tenderherb's Blog

  3. Boy, this is a post speaking to my heart. Lately, after every meal I serve, I look around at the messy table and the floor that needs to be swept again and think “God, again?” and my heart just sighs. But that’s certainly not the attitude of joyful service He wants us to have for our homes and families!

Leave a Reply

