Nettle – An Incredible Herb

A wild herb that grows in many backyards, and the near by woods. It’s a love-hate for me. It used to be an all hate relationship, ‘til I learned of it’s many valuable benefits as an herb!!!

As a child I grew up calling it ‘Fireweed’, until my parents went to Alaska and learned what real Fireweed was. It is beautiful and the nettle stings!!! It feels a bit like fire, which is probably why it got dubbed fireweed!! Check this out to see what fireweed really looks like!

We have an abundant amount growing on our farm. So I decided it was time to try my hand at harvesting my own. It sure is much cheaper than buying it, even though there is a bit more work involved.

HARVESTING The leaves, stem, and roots of this plant are edible. I only harvested the tops and best looking leaves, along with whatever stems. I wore gloves, used a scissors and carried a paper bag, never touching a plant!! The prickles covering the nettle contain histamines that can cause pain for several hours, (I know!!). I just cut it off right into the bag, once in the house shook it onto a sheet, spread it out and left it lay ‘til dry!! Once it is dry it doesn’t seem to sting, that I noticed. Crush it up and put into a jar, or bag –if freezing it. And use. So simple and easy!!

USES And what good comes from a plant that stings and will over run a flowerbed?? Lots of actually!!!

It is a great source of vitamins A and C and is high in Vit. K. A quart of nettle infusion contains more than 1000 milligrams of calcium, 15000 IU of vitamin A, 760 milligrams of vitamin K, 10% protein, and lavish amounts of most B vitamins. It also has calcium, silicon, potassium, chloride, chlorophyll, proteins, anti-cancer selenium, immune-enhancing sulphur, memory-enhancing zinc, diabetes-chasing chromium, and bone-building boron and dietary fiber.

It is a good blood purifier, increasing the efficiency of the liver and kidney function. It has also been used to treat asthma, ulcers, bronchitis, jaundice, and more. It also stimulates hair growth. Nettle is also a natural diuretic. It helps the body eliminate uric acid and bacteria that cause urinary tract infections (UTIs) and kidney stones. The diuretic action of nettle may also help lower blood pressure and relive premenstrual bloating. Nettle strengthens the adrenals, allowing you to tolerate more stress with less harm. And it nourishes your immune system, too.

The dried herb makes a nourishing herbal infusion that packs more energy per
cup than any stimulant, and without the downside of caffeine or stimulating
herbs like cayenne and ginger. Tired teenagers, sleep-deprived new moms,
stressed executives, wakeful menopausal gals, and wise women of all ages depend
on stinging nettle to restore mood, replenish energy, and guarantee sound sleep.
A daily cup of nettle infusion increases energy without wiring your nerves.

One, two, or even more cups per day of this high mineral tea which is also
 loaded with chlorophyll (a detoxifier) for several months goes a long way
toward preparing a woman’s body for pregnancy and for sustaining the embryo
once conception occurs.

Nettle tea is also fantastic in preparing for the baby’s birth as it is extremely high in Vitamin K, which allows the Mother to safely skip the newborn vitamin K shot knowing
that her newborn baby’s blood will already contain an ample amount.

Continuing to drink nettle tea while breastfeeding promotes successful lactation and a copious milk supply as well! -Source

HOW TO USE Plants with the deepest green give you the most energy.

Use 2 teaspoons of dried nettle leaves in a cup of boiling water for tea—drink up to four times a day.

You can also eat fresh steamed nettle leaves as a vegetable, and the leftover liquid can be taken in place of nettle tea.

Make an infusion –

* Put one ounce of dried nettle leaf in a quart jar.

* Fill to the top with boiling water.

* Cap tightly and steep at least four hours (overnight is fine).

* Strain and drink.

* Refrigerate the remainder and consume within 36 hours.

This is a new one for me, but one I am going to try!! After learning it is so good for energy, I know I need it!! I have more now then I did a yr ago, but I’d still like more. (Though I am very happy for the amount I do have!!)

But we must consume lots of nettle to get this power-packed nutrition. I infuse a full ounce dried nettle in a quart of water to make a brew that nourishes my ability to think and supports my desire to work. Infusing nettle maximizes its energy-enhancing effects too. Teas, tinctures and capsules of nettle contain too little herb to make a difference in vim and vigor. To experience the miracle of nettle, you’ll need to take the time to make a real infusion. –Source

I also like to add it to my herbal teas… just throw in a couple TBS. (I make herbal teas with a large assortment of herbs. And it NEVER tastes funny, my boys always LOVE it!!)

It is one of the ingredients in Flu Tea, as an immune booster and in the Red Raspberry Brew, to help with bloating, it’s a diuretic.

This is only the tip of the iceburg I am sure!! An online search will show you lots more!! I find it all very fasinating and interesting.

This entry was posted in Randomness. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Nettle – An Incredible Herb

  1. Louise says:

    Love this, Lois! I am so intrigued with all the herbs that God put out there for our good, and yet, it seems that the knowledge of how to use them, harvest them, and apply them to our needs is almost lost. I am all ears when it come to how to use herbs, and this post is great! =)

    • TenderHerb says:

      Thanks for the encouragement!! You don’t know how much I needed this!!!:) I love herbs too and think there is a wealth of health in the simple plants. And I have so much fun learning about them!

  2. Marilyn says:

    I really like using nettle too, partly cause it’s so easy to find growing wild and it has so much nutritional value. I like to dry it, and use it like parsley in cooking, so far my family hasn’t noticed! 🙂

  3. I found your blog web site on google and check a few of your early posts. Proceed to maintain up the superb operate. I just additional up your RSS feed to my MSN News Reader. Searching for ahead to studying more from you later on!…

  4. I’m not sure where you’re getting your info, but good topic. I needs to spend some time learning more or understanding more. Thanks for excellent info I was looking for this info for my mission.

  5. home brewing says:

    Hello! I’ve saved your site because you have so great posts here and I’d like to read some more.

  6. dian bartley says:

    I would like to know where can I get these things bcZ i have a 18 year old daughter and I have been trying to get pregnant for the past 4 year and I can’t bcz am 33 and I need a next child b4 am 40 I am glad to come on this site

Leave a Reply

