Teach Them…

I’ve been reading Raising Real Men by Hal and Melanie Young. It’s been a blessing and I’m learning a lot about boys and they reasons they are the way they are. {Smile} It is good!!! I would encourage any Mom of boys to read it. Even those who are around boys a lot. (If you are new here… I have 3 boys!!)

Anyway, this morning I was hit afresh with the reminder of my responsibility of raising my sons ‘diligently as I walk in the way’. As I look to Sept and the beginning of a new phase in life that will last for many, many years, these verses are ‘a basic commandment for homeschoolers’. -Raising Real Men

Hear, O Israel: The LORD our God, the Lord is one!
You shall love the LORD your God with all your heart, and with all your soul, and with all your strength.
 And these words, which I command you this day, shall be in your heart.
You shall teach them diligently to your children, and shall talk of them when you sit in your house, and when you walk by the way, and when you lie down, and when you rise up. Deuteronomy 6:4-7

These verses sum up a homeschool Mom’s job/goal!!! As I look to the future, I admit I feel small, I feel ill prepared (I have never enjoyed teaching!!), I feel inadequate… I know there will be mistakes and failures, days I feel like it’s impossible to be a wife, mom, and school teacher all at once. And yet, I am to Love the Lord with all my heart, soul and strength. And He will be my strength!! I am to teach my children. I can teach them ALL the time, any moment of the day and every moment!! I should never miss an opportunity!!Many Mom’s have asked me about homeschooling, if I really wanted to homeschool. I don’t have any other option (I won’t send my child to public school.) If I did have the option of sending my son to a Christian day school, I’m not sure I would!! For more than one reason… I know we will have adjustments, but any one would!!

I think I will enjoy watching my son learn, knowing I am the one teaching him. I can give him personalized attention, teaching each in the method they prefer. I already feel the satisfaction of seeing his mind grasp concepts and the dots connect for him. It is amazing to see your child’s mind as a giant sponge!! And it is ready to soak up whatever you put in it!! I need to take this time to teach him, to fill it with things I want him to learn, not leave it up to others, movies, mindless activities, and such to fill it with useless info.

If I want a Godly Man in the end, I need to work toward that goal!!! Each day, each step, each moment is an opportunity to teach, to mold his heart, and make him aware of God!!

I feel small, BUT with God ALL things ARE possible!! I can not do it alone!!

Linked to Growing Godly Men.

Raising Real Men Website Link

And here is a link to the chapter I’m reading – First Things

 

This entry was posted in Boys, Homeschool, Inspiration, Motherhood. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Teach Them…

  1. Heidi says:

    Thank you for sharing and reminding me that each moment is a moment to teach then to become Godly men.

Leave a Reply

