Sourdough Whole Wheat Bread Recipe

We have FINALLY found a sourdough bread recipe we love and I can turn out good loaves of bread and/or buns with it every time I make it!! At first we didn’t care for the tang of sourdough, but we fell in love with this bread and I am learning to keep my starter fresh tasting, so there is minimal tangy flavor.

My boys love having bread again… although I still try to limit how much they eat. But since I was sick last week and I had made 2 loaves of bread on Mon,  it was a nice quick food for them to eat!! They ate both loaves in a matter of days!!

This sourdough bread makes the best toast too!! And having a fried egg, with cheese and hot sauce… maybe a slice of ham or bacon… and my hubby has went back to… his litte heaven!! He was the one that missed his breads the most!!

We love this made into buns and rolls as well!! This recipe is simple and basic, and very easy to do!!

I found it at HomeJoys, she has lots of awesome looking breads and buns and more over there!!! If you haven’t checked her blog out you really should.

Whole Wheat Sourdough Bread

2 cup starter
1 cup milk
1/2 cup water
1/4 cup oil or melted butter
1/4 cup honey
5 cups whole wheat flour
3 tsp salt

Directions:

Mix all ingredients except salt for
2-3 minutes. Allow the dough to rest for about 20 minutes.

After rest, add salt and knead dough for about five minutes. If dough is too sticky, add
slightly more flour but dough should be soft and not dry and stiff. Place in
oiled bowl and allow dough to rise for 3-4 hours or until nearly doubled in
size. (I find I need to add about 1-1 1.5 more cups. It depends where you live, it makes a difference in how much flour you will need.)

Divide dough into two pieces and shape into loaves and place in two
greased bread pans. If a free form loaf is desired, place on greased baking sheet. Spray with oil and cover with plastic wrap to keep from drying out. Allow to rise for 2-3 hours.

Bake at 400 degrees for 30-35 minutes. For even browning, turn
loaves halfway through baking time.

Gina says to slash the bread when you are ready to put it in the oven. It falls for me, (as you can see on that one loaf above)!! I listened to a sourdough trouble shooting webinar the other day and she says to slash the loaf when you set it rise in the loaf pan. So I tried that today. While it was MUCH better, I still have tweaking to do. I don’t have all the ‘bugs’ worked out yet… but the loaf turns out so wonderful, I’m going to keep working on it.

The reason for the rests are to allow the fresh ground flour to soak in the moisture. Fresh ground flour doesn’t absorb moisture as fast as processed flour.

Do you have a favorite sourdough recipe??

This entry was posted in Recipes, Sourdough. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sourdough Whole Wheat Bread Recipe

  1. Esther Kingfisher says:

    This looks good! Does it hold together well? Almost all my wholewheat sourdough breads are crumbly. It could also be because I get kind of lazy with kneading, since I don’t have a stand mixer.

    • TenderHerb says:

      Yes, it holds together very well!!! We love it for sandwiches and stuff. I don’t think about it being crumbly, it might tend to be a bit more then bought, but I think it is better then some other homemade bread I’ve had. Have you tried the ‘rests’?? And yeah, kneading is what developes the gluten. Know what you mean about getting tired of kneading!! Hope you figure something out!!

Leave a Reply

