::Apple Butter:: -The Simple Way and Sugar-free-

Yesterday my Mom, sisters and I did 5 Bushels of apples. 3 were for me, and I will admit, I went home soon after we finished my 3 bushels. But I was too worn out to stay longer.

While we were running the apples through the strainer, I remembered reading somewhere that if you put the pulp through a second time, it comes out very thick, and you can make apple butter out of it. So I had to try it…

And it came out a lovely thick sauce, that was simple to make into apple butter. I will do things a bit differently next time, but I made do with what I had this time. The boys are DELIGHTED to have something besides honey to spread on the treasured pieces of bread!!!

I didn’t follow exact measurements… I dumped. So once again, I’ll try to give amounts I did.

4 Cups Thick Apple Butter

2 tsp Cinnamon

1/4 tsp Cloves

1/4 tsp Nutmeg

I also added a bit of honey to one batch and some maple syrup to another. Add more or less spices to your tastes. Stir good, put in jars and water bath 10 minutes.

I was surprised at how much apple butter I ended up with, all from the ‘left over stuff I would have normally threw away’!!!

I did read later, as I was through recipes, that you can add apple juice to make it thinner. And I would have done that, as it was too thick to even cook, but didn’t have any on hand. I think the flavor would go through better with cooking.

But for this first time of trial and error, I think it has turned out pretty good. I grew up with an apple butter recipe that was not even made with apples, but zucchini instead and we LOVED it. But I didn’t want to use the sugar it calls for…

I use Gala apples for apple sauce, and don’t add any sugar. People never notice and it tastes great. The apples are very firm, so take longer to cook. But I think it is worth it.

I know I said the other day I wasn’t gonna post again for a while, but I needed a short break, so thought I would quick post this.

Did I mention it’s finger-licking-good??? They boys cleaned up all the bread I had on hand.

Do you have a favorite sugar-free apple butter recipe to share?? Or other spices you add, or would have added?? Or some other tip or idea??

 

Linked to Tasty Tuesday

This entry was posted in Gluten Free/Sugar Free, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to ::Apple Butter:: -The Simple Way and Sugar-free-

  1. Bev says:

    Yay! I have internet again!! 🙂 It was a great idea to run the apples thru again! I had to think of all the applesauce I have wasted thru the years! 🙂 I put most of it into my sauce but did save some touse for butter. Haven’t gotten it stirred up yet, cuz my recipe I used before used jello and I wasn’t sure how I wanted to do it…

  2. Anna says:

    You made me hungry for apple butter!! Well actually, I had thought with all those apples I can get around our place that I should have made some… but it never happened. Reckon that’s what happens when I run off for 2+ weeks;)

  3. Lena says:

    They loved it!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Thanks for the idea.

  4. Bev says:

    hey, where are you? 🙂 no wedding pics?

Leave a Reply

