With Gratitude

With grateful heart, O God, I come

To offer to Thee praise,

For blessings bountifully poured

Upon me all my days.

You send so many, many things

For which I quickly say,

Thank you, God, for the blessings sent

To brighten up my day.

But sometimes, God, Your gifts are hard

For me to humbly take,

Then oft through tears and fast-closed fists

I bitter groanings make.

Oh, teach me, Lord, with open hands

To take what e’er You send,

And though Your gift was not my choice

Trust You my heart to mend.

I want to live with gratitude

Each moment of each day,

And take with praise the good or bad

You choose to send my way.

~Shirley Anne Peachey
This entry was posted in Faith, Inspiration and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to With Gratitude

  1. Brenda Orendorf says:

    Like! πŸ™‚ Living with gratitude…something I need to/have been working on. Thanking God even when things don’t go the way I want them to…He knows best! πŸ™‚ I hope you have a wonderful day and thanks for this post! πŸ™‚

  2. Bev says:

    thanks for the reminder!!

Leave a Reply

