Ocean Cake Recipe

A new favorite breakfast for us… I grew up with ‘Dutch Babies’, but they never seemed very filling, so we didn’t have it very often. Then when I found this recipe I had to try it, and it has much more substance to it, but is enough like dutch babies we love it!!

I have changed it some to make it ok for us. But you can easily keep it the original way too.

This makes a 7×11 pan, I double it for a 9×13, and I always double it…

1/3 C. Butter (I use less than double when I make a double batch.)

5 Eggs

1 C. Milk – I use coconut milk or almond milk, and often use half yogurt and it turns out just fine.

3/4 C. Flour – I use Spelt Flour or grind oatmeal to flour in my magic bullet

1/3 C. Whole Rolled Oats – I end up using quick most times.

1/2 tsp. Sea Salt

1/2 tsp. Cinnamon

Melt butter in pan in oven while it is preheating to 425*. While that is heating/melting, beat eggs until thick. Then add flour, milk, oats, salt and cinnamon, stir, mixing well. Pour over melted butter in pan. I like to swirl it a bit… it makes better, more fun ‘waves’. Bake 20-30 minutes, until crusty and medium brown.

It will puff and look like ocean waves. Serve warm with real maple syrup. (As it cools it does go flat(ter) again.)

And each time it will turn out in different shapes. Just be sure your kids know it is “OCEAN Cake’ and not ‘Lotion cake’!!! Collin was pronouncing it all wrong and told some repair guys in the barn one morning, he was having ‘lotion cake’ for breakfast. I’m sure they wondered what for Mom he had!!! 😉

Rylen enjoying his yummy breakfast!!!

This entry was posted in Breakfast, Gluten Free/Sugar Free, Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

