Lovely Lemon Bars

What do you do when you are craving lemon bars and are trying to avoid gluten?? What do you do when you don’t want to buy speciality flours or ingredients for lemon bars?? You come up with your own recipe. So many g/f recipes call for things like guar gum, Xanthan Gum, or premixed All Purpose Gluten Free flour that is not cheap!! I would rather stick with coconut flour, (I got on sale online a while go) or use ground oatmeal or rice or something that my kitchen holds. And then add LOTS of eggs. Eggs are an awesome binder. So this is what I came up with after looking at MANY different g/f recipes, I finally combined about 3-5 of them and did my own. And I remembered to write down my recipe.:) Just in case it turned out you know.

I actually didn’t think it had turned out. I taste-tested it Sat. after it cooled, and it was so crumbly and the flavor didn’t come through very strong. I was disappointed but decided, too bad, no time to make another one. Not to mention I didn’t have enough lemons to try another pan!!! Then at our church fellowship meal I began hearing other liking my bars. Hmm, that seemed strange.  So I’m not sure why, but sitting overnight sure improved them!!!

I had over half the pan left when we came home. (That’s what happens when you make a sign to put in the bars that they are g/f, keeps a lot of people from ‘trying’ it, unless they know what they are getting into.:) ) Anyway, I told Delvyn he really needs to try a bar. Hmmm, that may have been the wrong thing to do… Later he admitted to me he just couldn’t stop eating them!!

So anyway… here is the recipe…

Lemon Bars G/F & S/F

Crust layer:

1 C. Butter – Room temp

1/2 C. Coconut Flour

1 C. Oat Flour – Ground Oatmeal

1/3 C. Honey

3/4 C. Toasted Unsweetened Coconut Flakes

Filling:

6 Eggs

3/4 C. Honey

3/4 C. Lemon Juice – It took about 6 lemons

1/3 C. Toasted Unsweetened Coconut

1/3 C. Oat Flour – Ground Oatmeal

1/3 C. Coconut Flour

2 tsp. Lemon Zest

Toast 1 1/4 Cup or so of coconut flakes. Be very careful not to burn them. Allow to cool before using. I sprinkled the extra coconut over top of the bars the last 10 minutes.

Crust: Cut butter into the flours, honey and toasted flakes. Press into a 9×13 cake pan. Bake at 350* for 15 min. Or golden brown.

Filling: Beat everything together with hand mixer. It will be really runny!! Pour over baked crust. (Opps, just realized I didn’t write down how long I baked it.) I think I baked it at 350* for 20-25 minutes. Remember to sprinkle the toasted coconut on it if you want, do it for the last 10-15 minutes.

Chill at least 2 hrs or more before serving. I had let it in fridge overnight. Not sure what made the difference, that it wasn’t so crumbly the next day… but it did!!!

It is really simple and an easy thing to make. My cousin just make her own coconut flour last week. And the cake she made with it was very good and moist. You should be able to google it to find out how to make it. I found a place to make your own coconut milk on Tropical Traditions website.

And I had to include this picture of my ‘baby’… He is just growing up way to fast!! He turns 3 in May. Doesn’t seem that long ago he was a tiny newborn!! He loves playing with his cows… and had made this line of cows heading who knows where. He was quite pleased with himself.

This entry was posted in Boys, Gluten Free/Sugar Free, Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

