Soft Grits Breakfast Casserole

I found this recipe in my beloved Healthy Choices Cookbook. And I love that was submitted by my husband’s cousin in GA. So you know it’s gotta be a good ole’ southern recipe.

I keep looking for creative ways to eat eggs that are gluten-free and dairy free!! NOT an easy thing. We love a good breakfast casserole, but most of them contain bread and milk. This recipe does take milk, but I just use coconut milk and/or part kefir.

1 lb. Sausage, fried

1/2 lb. Bacon, fried & crumbled – (optional)

10 eggs, beaten

2 1/2 C. Milk – Or non-dairy option

2 tsp. Dry mustard

1 tsp. Salt

1 C. Yellow Corn Grits, cooked

2 C. Shredded cheddar Cheese, (optional)

1/2 tsp. Pepper

1/2 C. Chopped Onions

This literally took me 10 minutes to throw together this morning. And I even fried the sausage. While the sausage was frying, I got the water boiling for my grits. And just kept everything humming along. Then mixed up everything in my mixing bowl, greased my 9×13 pan, poured the goop in and stuck it in the oven. Bake at 350* for 60 minutes. This makes a very full pan!!! For once I have leftovers!!! And it is good hot or cold.

I say the bacon and cheese is optional, only because I am experimenting on myself and taking ALL dairy out. And I didn’t have fried up bacon on hand. Delvyn didn’t notice a thing, and loved it as good as he did the first time. He normally notices such things. I’m sure you could try ham instead too (might need to bake longer). And I did think of trying to just use part stock/broth in place of the milk. Just cause I’m stingy like that. Buying ‘other milks’ is not cheap.

So just thought I’d share… incase you are looking for something new to make for breakfast. Or if you have any ideas to share with me, that would be great. We are needing some new ideas around here. These boys have been eating everything I make for supper, so then I don’t have leftovers for lunch. Eggs are an easy thing… but they are getting old. If we eat them for lunch, who wants them for breakfast. Or if we eat them for breakfast who wants them for lunch??

 

This entry was posted in Breakfast, Gluten Free/Sugar Free and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Soft Grits Breakfast Casserole

  1. Lena says:

    This looks delicious, plus we love grits so I’m going to try this!!!!

  2. Tracy says:

    Looks good, gonna have to try it!

Leave a Reply

