It’s A New Year

…And I’ve been bugged about blogging again. I have thoughts and ideas rumbling in my brain for posts, so you just might see more things on here again. (Don’t hold your breath, I’ve said such things before.) I was also asked for some of our meals, using less grains. So maybe in the next few wks I can try to get some things posted.

Right now we are on the mends of a flu bug that went through some of us. So I thought I’d try to do a quick update on our lives…

I’ll start with the last months or so… the busy months of Nov/Dec. that was just plain crazy for us!! I barely had time to stop and think. In some ways it was good, in others it wasn’t. I felt like I didn’t know if I was coming or going at times. And the boys were more than ready to have Mom back to her full-time Mom job.

The end of Oct. I consented to doing a Christmas Program/Play for the children and youth at church. It was about the same time one of the guys from our youth group announced he was getting married the middle of Dec (in PA). So we did as much practicing as we could in Nov. And the end of Nov. decided the program would suit everyone best on the 9th (of Dec.). Yep, I had lots of work to do in 2 wks time!!! But everyone cooperated and it went really good. We kept things pretty simple, and had fun too. But I was happy to not have to worry about that any more. (I don’t have any pictures of that, as I was busy directing the whole thing. So those of you who have pictures… I’m over here. *waves*)

In the middle of all that, I was busy sewing Christmas gifts, but in reality cleaning out my fabric stash. I have too many garbage bags of jean pants waiting to be repurposed. So I was having fun making a bunch of different tote bags of different sizes & styles. I also made 6 sets of pjs for my 3 boys and 3 nephews. They are all matching, and I didn’t get a picture taken. And I forgot to take a picture of all the jean bags I made too. But for the few I took with my phone to show a friend. So I will post those.

And we made a few other things as well… guess I’ll post my phone pics of those too. (I did my sewing/crafts in the basement. My camera was always upstairs. I used my phone to take pictures. End of story.) I love seeing the things others make, so I will show you mine. They are not perfect by any sense of the word, but we had fun making them.

I seen this idea on pinterest, and told my hubby it would be a fun, cheap thing to make for his Christmas gift. (My side had a $$ limit, and were encouraged to make something/be creative. I love challenges.) I asked him to find me a tree to cut up, then spotted one out my bedroom window we could use. (Yep, it was growing out of an old stump.) It was to snow in the next 24 hrs and I put the pressure on. He went and cut it down one night in the dark, before coming in for supper. Collin and I cut everything off we could with a brush trimmer, then hauled it out to the shop and the chop saw. And soon had our hooks. Delvyn found the old board somewhere around the place and screwed the pieces on. So fast & simple really!!!

Other things were the glass block with lights inside and I used my sis-in-laws cricut to do the letters. I made a puppy hooded towel for one of my nephews, a jean purse with matching pjs. I appliqued a tractor to a shirt to match (no picture), for my only niece. It also matches the blanket I had made her last year.

And I have no clue how to add pictures on my posts now. Either they changed something, or something didn’t load right. I’m all confused, but at least they are there for you to see. Even if they are tiny. (If you click on them, it will make them bigger. But takes more work to do it that way.)

So I thought we were getting better… but I guess not. I’ll do another health update post in a day or two. This is long enough. (I really do want to get back into blogging. But there are bigger things going on in our lives right now, and it’s hard to find the words to say. Maybe one day the dam will break loose and I will be free to write again.)

I know I’m late, but I will wish you all a Wonderful and Happy New Year!!!

This entry was posted in Family Life, Fun Ideas, Randomness and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It’s A New Year

  1. Sheila says:

    Wow, Lois, those are some really nice projects! That took alot of dedication to get all that made! I’m sure it meant alot to the receivers, and probably a good feeling for you, too. I wish you would have pictures of the pj’s, etc. I saw Brooklyn’s bag when she brought it to Mom & Dad’s place – so cute!

Leave a Reply

