Yummy Butternut Squash

Oh, yes, it was yummy, and my boys LOVED it. In fact, even though there was a big hunk of hot, juicy ham sitting right in front of them, they chose the squash!! And they are generally meat eaters.

Fri. evening after the ‘crew’ was done killing and skinning the hogs, I went out for a bit. And was talking to one of the neighbors. He was asked how I was doing, etc. In the course of the conversation ‘food’ came up. And he asked if we had changed our diet. Which as you know, we have. He then asked if we eat squash. And I honestly told him, ‘Yes, we do. And the boys love it. But, beings I wasn’t sure we would like it, I didn’t stock up. Plus it is not something I have made a lot of.’ He said he had lots!! And gave me some ideas of ways to make it.

And the next morning he arrives at my door with a 5 gallon pail full of butternut squash. Ahhh, I love neighbors!! Thanks, Gene and Kay!!!

So this morning I decided to try something new for lunch. I wasn’t feeling so great, so wanted something easy and quick. So I put a ham in the oven. Then cut 2 squash in halves, mixed a bit of Maple Syrup with water, and poured that in the bottom of the pan and placed the squash, cut side down. (I did scoop most of the seeds out.) Then covered with tin foil and put it in the oven with the ham.

I left it at 300* for a little over 2 hours. And it was very, very soft when we got home from church. I drizzled the maple water/syrup on top of the squash before serving. Then we scooped the ‘meat’ out, mashed it a little on our plates. Added some butter and cinnamon. MMMMmmmmm, so yummy!!!

Rylen kept begging for 3rds and then 4ths. Jevan ate more then his share. And Collin cleaned up plates. Even though there was a small ‘biggish’ half left (if there is such a thing), we’ll eat it for supper, I’m sure.

Now I want to go look for some more recipes to try it in…

Psssttt… we won’t say what my Hubby thought of them. Although he DID eat 2 helpings!! He was not totally impressed. I’d say it has similar tastes to a pumpkin. And Wikipidia says the Australians use it as pumpkin and regard it as such. 

So now you have something new to try. I wasn’t really raised on squash, so it is a new field for me. And so far we are loving it.

Linked to Tasty Tuesday

Tempt My Tummy Tues.

Monday Mania

Slightly Indulgent

About TenderHerb

I'm a stay at home mom from WI and recently transplanted to OH. After dealing with health issues for over 4 yrs, we are recovering and living life to the fullest. I am finally being the wife and mom I had longed to be to my husband of 18 yrs and our 4 boys and 2 daughters. This is a place to share bits of our story and the things that have changed our lives. Jesus is first, family is second, and everything else comes after that. So every day looks different. But we are BLESSED!!!
This entry was posted in Gluten Free/Sugar Free, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Yummy Butternut Squash

  1. Lisa W. says:

    Mmmm…I love squash. In fact, after reading your post, I think I will make myself some for lunch.

  2. Rhoda W. says:

    Our home school co-op is having a Thanksgiving celebration tomorrow and we’re all to bring an original Thanksgiving dish. I saw your article and the ease of making this dish so I’m putting it to the test. It’s in the crock pot for the morning and over 40 moms and kids will be trying it.
    It looked and smelled yummy! Thanks for the recipe.

Leave a comment