How it All Began…

I thought I’d share a bit of ‘Our Story’. Our anniversary is on the 22nd of Feb. So what better time to do a mini series?!?!

One night while we lay snuggling and talking in bed, I made mention about ‘Our Love Story’. “Do we really have a ‘Love Story’??”, he asked. “Oh, yes, we do!! It may not be as romantic and exciting as some, but it’s ‘OUR’ Story just the same!!”

The first time I remember meeting Delvyn was way back when I was almost 11. His family moved to WI from PA, in March of ‘93. I don’t have any first impressions of him, as much as I do his sisters. They each had long, blond hair!! I remember wondering if they were twins and even asked a friend of mine, as we sat eating lunch in the school cafeteria. I sure was observing this new family.

The Sunday following their move, my baby sister was born, on Easter. Our Church went to a neighboring town to Easter Carol in the hospital there. Since my parents were gone, some of my siblings and I rode with Delvyn’s parents. On the way home, my youngest brother fell asleep and of course had to wet himself.

Soon after we started our relationship  (photo coming)

I was so embarrassed, we left behind a wet van seat. (Great first impressions!!) But my future Mother-in-law was very kind, gracious and understanding about it all.

In school, I never really cared much for Delvyn. He was a rather ‘Know-it-all’ type of kid. He loved his sports and played ‘by the rules‘!! He was good at whatever game he played, and if you were on his team you had a good chance of winning.

By the time I was 13/14, I’d had a crush on him at some point. I don’t really recall, but my brother says I did, so I’ll take his word for it. I do know, by then I had started tolerating his strange quirks. We had even passed notes at times while in school.

Soon after I turned 15, my parents choose to begin attending a different church an hour away. So our paths split for the next 3-4 yrs. We’d see each other now and then, but didn‘t do anything together. Delvyn’s path went a much different direction then mine. He pursued his own interests & lived a life that was way out of this ‘live-well-within-the-boundaries-girl’! I attended 6, 1 week Bible Schools, between the ages of 16 & 20 & we didn’t have a lot in common. And our paths didn’t cross much for a while.

Some time during my 18th year, a number of area families started gathering together for a Mid-week Bible Study. And Delvyn started attending them. I still didn’t really care for him all that well. He was still ‘too wild’ for me. But there wasn’t a whole lot of youth around to hang out with, so we did do things together, as a youth group. I started warming up to him. But knew I would NEVER ‘like’ him in a special way. For one his life was not centered on Christ and #2 he was a farmer. And I had said from little up,

“I will NEVER marry a farmer!!!”

I had cousins who lived on a farm and knew how much it tied them down and I didn’t want that for my life.

In Nov. of ‘01 Delvyn, along with 3 other youth boys, went to OH for a week of Bible School. Little did I know this was the beginning of a new chapter for both of our lives!!! At the end of a week of Bible School, the youth have a program, so my Dad, brother and I went down for the week-end. I spent the day with a cousin, who lived in the area. And just after supper, she dropped me off at the campus. I hadn’t a clue where to find anyone that I knew. My Dad finally came along and said ‘Hi’, but soon moved on, talking to someone.

I don’t remember where Delvyn appeared from. I just know I felt very relieved to have someone with me that I knew. Even if it was a guy. And even if it was him. I don’t remember saying much. He probably told me he’d help me find a few girls I knew. I was feeling very out of place. I am one who does not like being out of my comfort zone and I never felt so out of place as I did then!! I had heard ahead of my visit that God had gotten a hold of Delvyn, and it was amazing to see the change within him in the few short minutes that we were together.

While we were walking toward the Chapel, I don’t recall talking a whole lot. But there was one moment I remember very, VERY clearly!!

I had this sense of safety & security with this guy beside me. It was an odd feeling as I felt very, very insecure in my world. And then, I suddenly experienced something I had never had happen to me before! I heard or felt this quiet voice speaking into my heart, ‘This is the man I have picked for you to marry one day!!!’

I was immediately like ‘No way!!’ And wondered where this voice/thought had come from. Just my imagination? It rather scared me. I tried shaking it off as some wild thoughts of mine, but just couldn’t.

Our First Valentine’s Day 2003 (photo coming)

I heard it again, ‘This is the man I have for you!’ I still couldn’t picture him as a ‘man’, he was just a guy. Just a friend of mine.

Once inside the building, I found a few girls I knew and the other guys Delvyn had went down with. I didn’t feel like talking much, too many things were now on my mind. We all sat together, for the evening service. One guy friend was beside me, but must of left, because Delvyn was soon sitting beside me. And I was still a bit shook up about the whole thing that had happened while walking in. And I now felt a bit unnerved sitting beside this guy-who I could at most times, at least feel comfortable around. I could talk to him, and pretty much be myself. But now? ‘What if he could read my thoughts?? What if he heard the same voice I just had?? What was he thinking about all this??’ I just could not shake the idea that ‘One day I would marry this guy I was sitting beside.’

Later that evening some of the youth played Volleyball. I sat on the sidelines and watched the games. I would catch myself watching that one particular guy a lot. And I didn’t even know how or what to pray. It seemed very surreal. At the time I just couldn’t see m self marrying this person I felt God had picked for me. I could only pray. This would be only the beginning of trusting God! Where would God take me?? And how would He work this all out??

Part 2 here…

About TenderHerb

I'm a stay at home mom from WI and recently transplanted to OH. After dealing with health issues for over 4 yrs, we are recovering and living life to the fullest. I am finally being the wife and mom I had longed to be to my husband of 18 yrs and our 4 boys and 2 daughters. This is a place to share bits of our story and the things that have changed our lives. Jesus is first, family is second, and everything else comes after that. So every day looks different. But we are BLESSED!!!
This entry was posted in Love. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to How it All Began…

  1. Sarah Lynne says:

    Happy Friday!! I am a new follower!!Sarahsarahsblogoffun.blogspot.com

  2. 3boyzmom says:

    Hi! I'm visiting and following you from Follow Friday! I have 3 boys too:) I look forward to reading your postsTangie (3boyzmom)http://saveyourmoneymama.blogspot.com

  3. Jennette says:

    Hi, I am following from friday follow!I am following you!Stop by and visit me at,http://www.smartandtrendymoms.com/http://rockincupcake.blogspot.com/

  4. ~SHANNON~ says:

    What a beautiful beginning to a wonderful love story! I can't wait till it's continued!I found your blog through Friday Follow- and I'm so glad I did! Hope lot's of new people find you as well!I'm your newest follower- I'd love if you'd come check out my blog!Shannon at:http://www.milkandcuddles.com/

  5. Rebecca D says:

    I found you through Friday Follow… Nice to meet you… now I'm a follower too!

  6. Emmy says:

    Oh so excited to read the next part! You do have a love story 🙂

  7. bella says:

    Hello! I'm your new follower from Follow Friday. I love to live more simply and I hope that you stop by and follow my blog and read "about me" so you can see how similarly you and I think about living life. May the Lord Bless and Keep you! Roz (aka Bella)http://bellavita-bellasblog.blogspot.com

  8. Amy says:

    I'm following you from Friday Follow. I look forward to reading the rest of your story. :)http://trixiestreatsandsweeps.blogspot.com

  9. I'm loving it!!! There's a few parts of detail you've never mentioned. And I wonder what Delvyn's side of the story is!!! lol

  10. Pingback: Corn Rows | Tenderherb's Blog

  11. Pingback: ‘It’s a Spring Party’ | Tenderherb's Blog

  12. Pingback: How it Almost Ended… | Tenderherb's Blog

  13. Pingback: How Our Hearts Became One… | Tenderherb's Blog

  14. Pingback: How God Worked and Moved… | Tenderherb's Blog

  15. Pingback: Things I Love… | Tenderherb's Blog

  16. Pingback: Where Is My Security? | Tenderherb's Blog

  17. Pingback: Major Changes, Gracefully Adjusting | Tenderherb's Blog

Leave a comment